Candice Wiggins Named State Farm Wade Trophy Player Of The Year

April 5, 2008

Stanford Press Conference Quotes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Friday's Photos: NCAA Salute Dinner

Friday's Photos: ESPN Photo Shoot/Interviews

Tournament Central

TAMPA, Fla. - Stanford senior guard Candice Wiggins added to her list of prestigious honors received over her illustrious career Saturday morning, as she was named the State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year and was also selected to the State Farm Coaches' All-America Team for a school record-breaking fourth time, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced.

Wiggins became just the second Stanford player to earn the Wade Trophy, as Jennifer Azzi was previously honored in 1990. With her selection to the All-America team, Wiggins is now only the seventh player in Division I history to earn All-America honors each of her four seasons.

'Candice Wiggins demonstrates what this award is all about,' said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. 'She is not only a force on the court, but is also a great role model to the community. I am certain Lily Margaret Wade would be pleased to know Candice is receiving this award in her honor.'

Wiggins' stellar play this season has been a major factor in Stanford's return to the Final Four and a ranking as high as No. 2 in the nation earlier in the year. Her 20.2 points per game leads the Pac-10, and this March, she became the first player in NCAA Tournament history to record two 40-point performances in a single tournament when she scored 44 points against UTEP in the second round, then dropped 41 on Maryland in the Elite Eight to push Stanford into the Final Four.

Those and other memorable performances from Wiggins, including 35 points against then-No. 10/10 Baylor on Dec. 16 and 22 points and six rebounds in a Dec. 22 victory over Tennessee, among others, have led Stanford to a school-record tying 34 victories so far in 2007-08, along with a 16-2 Pac-10 mark and eighth consecutive conference regular-season title. For her efforts, Wiggins was named Pac-10 Player of the Year for a record-breaking third time.

The 2007-08 season served as Wiggins' personal record-breaking crusade at both the school and conference level. Over the course of the year, Wiggins became both Stanford's and the Pac-10 Conference's all-time leading scorer (2,590 career points through April 4) and three-point shooter (290 three-pointers made through April 4). Through last Monday night's Elite Eight contest against Maryland, Wiggins also sits atop the Stanford career annals for scoring average (19.2), three-pointers attempted (743), free throws made (555) and attempted (675), and her 277 career steals are only three away from tying Sonja Henning's all-time school record of 280.

Wiggins has also made her mark in Stanford's single-season record book this year, setting new benchmarks in free throws made (176) and attempted (215), three-pointers attempted (242), and field goals attempted (567). Her current season point total of 748 points is also only five away from tying Kate Starbird's 11-year-old school record of 753.

'Congratulations to The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Candice Wiggins,' said Mark D. Gibson, assistant vice president of advertising at State Farm. 'Her outstanding accomplishments as a student-athlete, on and off the court, make her truly deserving of this wonderful honor. We look forward to seeing Candice fulfill the rest of her basketball dreams.'

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 31st year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball', debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Tennessee's Candace Parker. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003). Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) are the award's only two-time recipients.

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past five years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administration and media from across the United States selects the winner.

Wiggins will be formally presented her award at the WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens on Tuesday, April 8, 2008, at Noon (ET) in the Tampa Marriott Waterside's Grand Ballroom. The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year presentation is part of the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Tampa Bay, Fla.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder