Four-Time All-American Candice Wiggins Caps Off Career with The 2008 State Farm Wade Trophy

April 5, 2008

Courtesy: WBCA

ATLANTA -The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced today that Stanford University's senior Candice Wiggins has been named The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year for the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I. The WBCA presents this award, on behalf of the Wade Coalition, annually to the top player in NCAA Division I that embodies the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade, including effect on team, character and leadership.

'Candice Wiggins demonstrates what this award is all about,' said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. 'She is not only a force on the court, but is also a great role model to the community. I am certain Lily Margaret Wade would be pleased to know Candice is receiving this award in her honor.'

Wiggins, a member of the 2008 State Farm Coaches' All-America Team, is just the seventh player in Division I history to earn the All-America honors each of her four seasons on the court. This season, the senior guard earned Pacific-10 Player of the Year accolades for the third time, becoming the only women's basketball player in Pac-10 history to accomplish such a feat. This is Wiggins' first national player of the year honor, though the United States Basketball Writers Association named her Co-Freshman of the Year in 2005.

Leading the Stanford Cardinal to just its second Final Four in school history and first since 1997, Wiggins is the Pac-10's leading scorer, averaging 20.2 points per game in 2007-08. She recently became the first player in NCAA history to record two 40-point performances in the NCAA Tournament, dropping a career-high 44 points against University of Texas at El Paso in the second round and 41 points versus No. 1 seed Maryland in the Elite Eight.

Wiggins, the Pac-10 and Stanford's all-time leading scorer, has also been a leader in the community. The San Diego, Calif., native is one of 10 finalists forthe Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, which honors the player that excels in the areas of classroom, community, character and competition.

'Congratulations to The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Candice Wiggins,' said Mark D. Gibson, assistant vice president of advertising at State Farm. 'Her outstanding accomplishments as a student-athlete, on and off the court, make her truly deserving of this wonderful honor. We look forward to seeing Candice fulfill the rest of her basketball dreams.'

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 31st year is named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade. This most prestigious award, regarded as 'The Heisman of Women's Basketball', debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball.

Last year's State Farm Wade Trophy winner was Tennessee's Candace Parker. The first recipient of the Wade Trophy was Carol Blazejowski of Montclair State in 1978. Other Wade Trophy/NCAA Division I Player of the Year recipients include many WNBA standouts such as Teresa Weatherspoon (1988), DeLisha Milton-Jones (1997), Ticha Penicheiro (1998), Sue Bird (2002) and Diana Taurasi (2003). Seimone Augustus (2005 and 2006) and Nancy Lieberman (1979 and 1980) are the award's only two-time recipients.

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past five years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administration and media from across the United States selects the winner.

Wiggins will be formally presented her award at the WBCA Awards Luncheon presented by State Farm and Jostens on Tuesday, April 8, 2008, at Noon (ET) in the Tampa Marriott Waterside's Grand Ballroom. The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year presentation is part of the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Tampa Bay, Fla.

About State Farm
State Farm(r) insures more cars than any other insurer in North America and is the leading U.S. home insurer. State Farm's 17,000 agents and 68,000 employees serve over 75 million auto, fire, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and more than 1.6 million bank accounts. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 22 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit or in Canada

About the NAGWS
The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) was established to develop and deliver equitable and quality sport opportunities for ALL girls and women through relevant research, advocacy, leadership development, educational strategies, and programming in a manner that promotes social justice and change.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the WBCA promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For additional information about the WBCA, please visit


Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network