Stanford Women Advance To Tomorrow's Finals

April 5, 2008

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The Stanford women's crew completed their first day of action at the San Diego Crew Classic today. Both the varsity eight and the junior-varsity eight advanced to tomorrow's races.

The Crew Classic has been the marquee regatta on the West Coast for many years and has been on the rowing scene with many esteemed regattas such as Head of the Charles. The Crew Classic is the first spring regatta where the PAC-10 programs go head to head.

The Stanford Varsity Eight led out of the blocks against UCLA, Wisconsin and the University of Louisville to finish first and earn Lane 1 in the Grand Final where the Cardinal will compete for the Jessop-Whittier Cup tomorrow. UCLA and Wisconsin also advanced. Advancing from the otherheat: USC, Washington State and Washington.

The Stanford Junior-Varsity 8 and St. Joseph's trailed Washington and UCLA off the line, but then the Cardinal turned in a solid final thousand meters to within a half boat length of the Bruins and secure a berth in the final. Purdue was fifth, San Diego State was sixth and Loyola Marymount finished seventh. Stanford will face Washington, USC, UCLA, Washington Stata, and Clemson for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy.

The Stanford Novice Eight finished third in its heat behind Orange Coast and USC. The Novice eight petite also finished third, behind Clemson and St. Josephs.

'The Crew Classic's traditional cross-wind turned into a swift tail wind today, and that made for exciting, fair and close racing,' said Head Coach Yaz Farooq. 'I thought both our varsity and JV boats handled the conditions well and did a solid job of securing spots in their respective finals.'

Contributing to the Cardinal effort today were: Kathy Altman, Sophie Aubrey, Kerry Birk, Jenifer Brown, Tiffany Dao, Drusia Dickson, Diana Eaton, Katherine Fero, Adrienne Fritsch, Alex Hasbach, Pia Hauch, Kelly Hill, Lauren Hofmayer, Wendy Kalkus, Cassandra Kull, Maria Lemus, Maura Moran, Stephanie Morrison, Katie O'Neil, Araceli Ortiz, Sonia Poltoratski, Jessi Reel, Elena Rivera, Erika Roddy, Linda Ruiz, Eva Sheridan, Julia Thompson, Mikhal Trope, Michelle Vezie, Carly Villareal, Anne Winslow and Lena Wolfe.

Racing begins 7:20 a.m. on Sunday and goes to 2:10 p.m. The Jessop Whitter Cup final is set for 9:00 a.m. and the Copley Cup final will begin at 9:15 a.m. on Sunday.

Day 1 Results
Race # 7: Mens Collegiate Varsity Invitational A Copley Cup **1. Wash, 5:41.60; 2. Harvard, 5:46.82; 3. Stanford, 5:48.07; 4. Syracuse, 5:51.17; 5. OSU, 5:56.17; 6. UCSD, 6:01.60; 7. Colgate, 6:12.07.

Race # 10: Womens Collegiate Varsity Invitational B Jessop-Whittier Cup1. Stanford, 6:30.67; 2. UCLA, 6:31.95; 3. Wisco, 6:33.01; 4. Louisville, 6:39.24.

Race # 11: Womens Collegiate LW Prelim A.W. Coggeshall Cup1. Stanford, 6:44.83; 2. Wisconsin, 6:48.86; 3. Cal, 7:13.20; 4. Loyola, 7:21.42.

Race # 13: Mens Collegiate Novice A Derek Guelker Memorial Cup1. Wash, 5:54.70; 2. Stanford, 6:02.01; 3. OCC, 6:07.88; 4. Sonoma, 6:25.83; 5. Colorado, 6:33.23; 6. UCD, 6:33.70; 7. Washington St., 6:40.54.

Race # 17: Womens Collegiate JV B Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy1. Wash, 6:39.30; 2. UCLA, 6:49.42; 3. Stanford, 6:50.65; 4. St. Joseph's, 7:05.15; 5. Purdue, 7:07.18; 6. SDSU, 7:14.37; 7. Loyola, 7:19.93.

Race # 18: Mens Collegiate JV A Sharp Cabrillo Cup1. Cal, 5:58.73; 2. Stanford A, 6:03.50; 3. OSU, 6:03.95; 4. UCSD, 6:23.64; 5. UCLA, 6:23.88; 6. UCD B, 6:43.01; 7. USC, 6:46.26.

Race # 20: Womens Collegiate Novice A Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy1. OCC, 7:20.3; 2. USC, 7:26.27; 3. Stanford, 7:36.46; 4. UCI, 7:36.77; 5. UCSD, 7:44.21; 6. ASU, 8:03.24.

Race # 56: Womens Collegiate Novice Petite1. Clemson, 7:08.60; 2. St. Joseph's, 7:15.82; 3. Stanford, 7:23.97; 4. USD, 7:31.83; 5. UCI, 7:34.76; 6. UCSB, 7:39.63.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network