Husky Boats Win Featured Races at Crew Classic

April 6, 2008

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - They took two different paths, but the end results were the same. The Washington men's and women's varsity eight crews each won the championship in their headline events, Sunday at the 35th-annual San Diego Crew Classic on Mission Bay.

The 17th-ranked UW women staged a furious comeback to overtake No. 4 USC at the finish line and capture the Jessop-Whittier Cup. The Huskies, making their first appearance at the Crew Classic since 2004, won the featured women's race for the first time since 2002.

Making the victory even more impressive was the fact the Huskies were rowing in lane six, which is farthest from the shore and least protected from the gusty winds.

USC, rowing inside in lane two, and Washington broke ahead of the six-boat starting pack at the start. The Trojans, third-place finishers at the 2007 NCAA Championships, steadily pulled away. They led by one-half length at the 500-meter mark and by six seats midway through the race.

The Huskies took a strong move with 400 meters left and drew even with USC with 100 meters to row. The finish was too close to call before timers determined that UW clocked a winning mark of 6-minutes, 22.90-seconds. USC was less than one second back in 6:23.80.

Washington out-raced four ranked crews to win the grand final, including No. 15 Washington State with a third-place time of 6:26.10. Sixth-ranked Stanford finished fourth (6:29.27), No. 18 UCLA was fifth (6:29.38) and Wisconsin was sixth (6:32.24).

The Husky men's varsity eight took a different course, rowing in the lead for the majority of the 2,000-meter race. UW and Pac-10 rival California battled in lanes one and two for most of the race before a strong move during the final 500 meters propelled the Huskies to victory. The Bears dropped back to fourth place, enabling Princeton and Harvard to overtake them.

Washington's winning time of 5:39.90 provided a six-seat win over Princeton out in lane seven. The Tigers' runner-up up time was 5:41.80 followed by Harvard in 5:43.89 and Cal in 5:44.15. Northeastern was fifth (5:44.18), Stanford sixth (5:44.38) and Yale seventh (5:47.37).

The win marked the first time UW won the top men's race at the Crew Classic since 1998.

The Huskies claimed trophies in the top-two races at San Diego for the ninth time.

(Below are the agate results from Sunday's early races at the San Diego Crew Classic. Additional race results, with more detailed recaps, will be added to this page as the races are completed.)

Sunday, April 6, 2008
Mission Bay; San Diego, Calif.
(all races were 2,000 meters)

Copley Cup (Men's Varsity Eight)
1, Washington, 5:39.90
2, Princeton, 5:41.80
3, Harvard, 5:43.89
4, California, 5:44.15
5, Northeastern, 5:44.18
6, Stanford, 5:44.38
7, Yale, 5:47.37

UW Lineup: cox-Katelin Snyder, stroke-Will Crothers, 7-Heath Allen, 6-Jessiah Johnson, 5-Simon Taylor, 4-Blaise Didier, 3-Roko Svast, 2-Toby Dankbaar, bow-Lowell Neal.

Jessop-Whittier Cup (Women's Varsity Eight)
1, Washington, 6:22.90
2, USC, 6:23.80
3, Washington State, 6:26.10
4, Stanford, 6:29.27
5, UCLA, 6:29.38
6, Wisconsin, 6:32.24

UW Lineup: cox-Alysha Koorji, stroke-Kara Farquharson, 7-Heather Young, 6-Rosanne DeBoef, 5-Erika Shaw, 4-Kelly Foster, 3-Ashley Jones, 2-Kim Kennedy, bow-Lia Prins.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network