Lightweight Women Win The A.W. Coggeshall Cup

April 7, 2008

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - For the second year in a row the No. 3 Stanford Lightweight Women have won the A.W. Coggeshall Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic. In the grand finals The Cardinal Lightweights were followed closely to the 1000 meter mark by No. 4 Wisconsin.

However, after crossing the halfway point the Cardinal Lightweights made a strong push for an open water advantage. The final margin of victory was 13 seconds.

'The team has learned a lot in their first two weekends of racing and they were really determined to put together a complete performance,' commented Coach Al Acosta. 'It was nice to see the make it happen.'

Next up for the Cardinal on April 13 and 14 is the Knecht Cup in Cherry Hill, NJ.

Stanford 6:36
Wisconsin 6:49
Loyola Marymount 7:29
California 7:31

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network