Men's Golf Hosts Thunderbird Invitational Friday Through Sunday

April 9, 2008

The Arizona State men's golf team plays host on April 11-13 (Friday-Sunday) to the 36th annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-71, 7,057 yards). The 15 schools will play 18 holes each day. ASU has won five of the past nine (1999-2001, 2003-2004) Thunderbird Invitational Tournaments and has won the tournament 12 of the past 19 years. Last year, Oregon won the tournament with a 20-under 844 while Charlie Beljan of New Mexico won medalist honors with a 15-under 201. The teams will tee at 7:30 a.m. on Friday and Saturday and at 6 a.m. on Sunday. Live Scoring Live scoring will be available at

ASU LINEUP: ASU will field a lineup of sophomore Knut Borsheim, freshman James Byrne, freshman Stephan Gross, freshman Jesper Kennegard and sophomore Braxton Marquez.

TOURNAMENT HISTORY: ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 13 times (1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2004). Nine times Sun Devils have won the individual title: Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (1999), Paul Casey (2000) and Alejandro Canizares (2004).

TEAMS: The 15 competing schools are host Arizona State, Baylor, California, Colorado State, Connecticut, CSU Northridge, Denver, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pacific, San Diego State, Texas A&M, and UC Irvine.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network