Anjelica Selden Named a Finalist for Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

April 10, 2008

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Vote for Jelly!

Senior Anjelica Selden has been named one of 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Nationwide balloting begins today and concludes on May 9 at to determine this year's winner.

Fan balloting will be combined with votes from coaches, media and sponsors to determine the recipient of the award. The winner will be announced and presented with the award at the Opening Ceremonies of the NCAA Women's College World Series on May 27. The Lowe's All-Senior All-America Team, based on final results of the balloting, will also be recognized.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award has developed into the nation's premier tribute to college seniors. The award, which launched in 2001 with college basketball, is now in its second year for softball.

The finalists were chosen from a list of 30 candidates based on personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete. These four primary areas of criteria include: classroom, community, character and competition.

The idea of an award to salute collegiate seniors was conceived by sportscaster Dick Enberg, who continues to serve as Honorary Chairman. It was inspired by the trend of college basketball players leaving college early to turn professional. The Senior CLASS Award was formed to honor senior student-athletes who fulfill their entire collegiate athletic eligibility, earn a college degree and give back to their community.

Along with Selden, the other nine finalists are Callista Balko (Arizona), Beth Boden (Tennessee Tech), Sara Dyer (Tulsa), Lauren Eckermann (Oklahoma), Rachel Folden (Marshall), Jordan Praytor (Alabama), Megan Rhodes (Tennessee), Angela Tincher (Virginia Tech) and Sandy Vojik (DePaul).

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network