Former Sun Devil Head Coach Frank Kush and Former Sun Devil All-America Cornerback Michael Haynes To Participate In Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater

April 17, 2008


With just under two weeks before the Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater at Reynolds Plantation is set to tee off, premier coach and celebrity teams are still coming on board with the hope of taking home the $100,000 first-place scholarship check.

Former ArizonaState Head Coach Frank Kush will partner with former Sun Devils' All-America cornerback and NFL veteran Michael Haynes.

During his 21-year career at ASU, Frank Kush compiled an incredible record of 176-54-1. From 1969 to 1973, Kush won five consecutive Western Athletic Conference championships - winning 50 of 56 games. During this time, Arizona State won the 1970 Peach Bowl (now the Chick-fil-A Bowl) and the first three editions of the Fiesta Bowl . Kush was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in1995 and the Chick-fil-A Bowl Hall of Fame in 2007.

A 2001 inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame, Michael Haynes will complete the Sun Devils' team. Haynes was a nine-time NFL Pro Bowler with the New England Patriots and Los Angeles Raiders and helped lead the Raiders to a victory in Super Bowl XVIII. Haynes was also inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1997.

The Chick-fil-A Bowl Alma Mater at Reynolds Plantation will be played April 29 and features pairings that include a university head coach and a celebrity alumnus from the same school competing in a scramble format against other university teams from around the country for their share of the $375,000 scholarship purse.
The unparalleled field will also include defending champions Frank Beamer and Dell Curry of Virginia Tech and other top NCAA head coaches and celebrities. In all, 14 teams are scheduled to hit the links.
Current players and teams include:
TEAM:                          COACH:                        CELEBRITY:

Alabama                        Nick Saban                    Ken Stabler
Arizona State                 Frank Kush                    Michael Haynes
Auburn                          Tommy Tuberville          Pat Sullivan
Boston College               Jeff Jagodinski               Chris O'Donnell
Colorado                       Bill McCartney                Kordell Stewart
Georgia Tech                 Paul Johnson                  Jon Barry
Maryland                       Ralph Friedgen               Neil O'Donnell
South Carolina               Steve Spurrier               Sterling Sharpe
UCLA                            Rick Neuheisel               Sinjin Smith
UConn                           Jim Calhoun                   Donny Marshall
Virginia Tech                  Frank Beamer                Dell Curry
Wake Forest                  Jim Grobe                      Billy Packer
More new teams will be announced prior to the event.
The celebrity round will be taped for broadcast and aired nationally by CBS at 2 p.m. (ET) on Christmas Day. The made-for-TV portion is being produced by Savlov Consulting, Inc.

In addition to the $375,000 scholarship purse, another $50,000 of the proceeds will be donated to the Reynolds Foundation.
For more information on the event, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network