Alex Fletcher Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

April 18, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - The Football Writers Association of America has released its 2008 Outland Trophy Watch List and Stanford senior Alex Fletcher is included among the seventy standout linemen from around the country who have been nominated for preseason consideration for this prestigious award that honors the best interior lineman in college football.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. With input from the entire FWAA membership, the winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

The 2008 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPNU Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Three finalists will appear on the show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 15, 2008 in Omaha, Neb.

Fletcher, who will move from offensive guard to the center position for 2008 season, has started 31 games in his Stanford career, more than any returning starter. A native of Old Brookville, NY, Fletcher started the first 20 games of his Stanford career on the offensive line, including 12 starts at center and eight at right guard before missing the final three contests of the '06 season due to injury. He started all 12 games at right guard last season.

The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Senior defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, who played for the national champion LSU Tigers, won the 2007 Outland Trophy.

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Fletcher is the second Stanford player to be named to an early season watch list for a prestigious award. Bo McNally was included among 42 of the nation's top collegiate defensive players for the Lott Trophy Watch List.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder