Garcia Named To Outland Trophy Watch List

April 18, 2008

DALLAS, Texas - The Football Writers Association of America has released its 2008 Outland Trophy Watch List, which includes University of Washington senior center Juan Garcia.

A total of 71 standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason. Garcia was not included on the original list announced today, but was added after the FWAA committee realized the Yakima, Wash. native was returning for his sixth year of eligibility.

'Juan certainly deserves to be considered for honors such as the Outland Trophy. He has done all the things necessary to put himself in a position to be a top football player. His leadership means a great deal to our football team.'
UW Head Coach Tyrone Willingham

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior lineman in college football since 1946. With input from the entire FWAA membership, the winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man All-America team and picks the three Outland Trophy finalists and the winner.

The 2008 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 11 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPNU Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Three finalists will appear on the show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be on Jan. 15, 2008 in Omaha, Neb.

The Outland Trophy is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century. Senior defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, who played for the national champion LSU Tigers, won the 2007 Outland Trophy.

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder