Arianna Lambie Is Named Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award Winner

April 21, 2008

Pac-10 Release Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Arianna Lambie, senior competitor in cross country, indoor and outdoor track for STANFORD, have been named a recipient of the 2008 Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today. Also, earning the award was Michael Capbarat, a senior outfielder for California baseball.

Lambie, a native of Harvard, Mass., is a 14-time cross country All-American, helping guide Stanford to three consecutive and four total national championships during her Cardinal career (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007). As team captain, she has posted three straight Pac-10 individual titles en route to being named Pac-10 Athlete of the Year in each of her final three seasons. Lambie is also a member of the American record-holding 4 x1500 meter relay team that won the Penn Relays in 2006, as well as the school record-holding distance medley relay team.

As an earth systems major currently pursuing her master's degree, Lambie is a four-year member of the Science and Environmental Education student group on campus. Teaching science lessons at local Costano Elementary School in East Palo Alto, Lambie is president of the club and responsible for the organization of lessons and mentoring of student-teachers. She also volunteers her time with the Special Olympics, Kids With Dreams and Habitat for Humanity.

The Sportsmanship Award is selected by members of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and is based on good sportsmanship and ethical behavior in participation of intercollegiate athletics, as well as a demonstration of good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Conference award winners are then nominated for the NCAA Division I Sportsmanship Award.

Also nominated for this year's Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award were Antoine Cason and Karin Wurm, ARIZONA; Carolyn Finley, ARIZONA STATE; Stephanie Wieger, CALIFORNIA; wrestling team and Jennifer May, OREGON; Justin Wagner and D'Anna Piro, OREGON STATE; Bryant Hadden, STANFORD; Moniquee Alexander, UCLA; Stenn Parton and Amy Massey, USC; Taylor Cochran and Maggie Bever, WASHINGTON.

Previous Pac-10 Sportsmanship Award winners include Mitch Canham of Oregon State (2007), Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana of Stanford (2007), Anna Key of California (2006), Eric Nygard (2006) of Washington State, Channing Frye of Arizona (2005), Cara Chlebicki of California (2005) and Grayling Love of Arizona State (2004).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network