Moreno, Schreefel, Mozo Named All-Pac-10 First Team

April 23, 2008

Complimenting its first conference title since 1989, the USC women's golf team dominated the All-Pac-10 Team announced on Wednesday (April 23) after the tournament, placing a school-record six golfers on the first, second and honorable mention teams.

Andrea Gaston, USC's 12th-year Head Coach, was voted Pac-10 Coach of the Year while Lizette Salas earned Freshman of the Year honors.

Senior Paola Moreno, who won USC's first Pac-10 individual title since 2000, joined senior Dewi Claire Schreefel and sophomore Belen Mozo on the All-Pac-10 first team. Schreefel and Mozo tied for third at the Pac-10 Championships.

For Schreefel, a two-time All-American, it was her first first-team nod, as it was for Mozo. It was Moreno's second first team selection as USC earned three first-team picks for the first time in school history.

Salas and sophomore Stephanie Endstrasser, sixth and eighth, respectively, at the Pac-10 Championships, were both All-Pac-10 second team selections. Freshman Joanne Lee rounded USC's selections as an honorable mention pick.

Previously, the most conference selections USC had in one season was four.

2008 All-Pac-10 Team

First TeamTiffany Joh Jr. UCLABelen Mozo So. USCAzahara Munoz Jr. Arizona StateAnna Nordqvist So. Arizona StateAlison Walshe Jr. ArizonaGlory Yang Fr. UCLADewi Claire Schreefel Sr. USCPaola Moreno Sr. USC

Second TeamSydnee Michaels So. UCLALizette Salas Fr. USCMari Chun Jr. StanfordCathryn Bristow Jr. OregonStefanie Endstrasser So. USCKendra Little Fr. OregonMaria Jose Uribe Fr. UCLAPia Halbig Fr. California

Honorable MentionJoanne Lee Fr. USCAllison Goodman Jr. CaliforniaShannon Yocum Jr. CaliforniaAmy Eneroth Jr. Washington StateMary Jacobs Sr. ArizonaJennifer Osborn Jr. Arizona StateJuliana Murcia So. Arizona StateAlejandra Llaneza Fr. ArizonaCatherina Wang So. Stanford

Pac-10 Coach of the Year -- Andrea Gaston, USCPac-10 Player of the Year -- Tiffany Joh, UCLAPac-10 Freshman of the Year -- Lizette Salas, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network