UCLA Tennis Players Seek Individual Titles at Pac-10 Championships

April 23, 2008

This Week
Members of the UCLA men's and women's tennis teams will be in Ojai, Calif. this week taking part in the Pac-10 Championships. The individual event, which features two singles and two doubles draws, runs from April 24-27. The men's tournament will take place at Ojai's Libbey Park, while the women begin play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club before moving to Libbey Park on Saturday and Sunday. Online draws for the tournament can be accessed by clicking HERE

The Men
UCLA's four entrants into the main singles draw are Holden Seguso, Mathieu Dehaine, Michael Look and Jeremy Drean. Dehaine is the No. 5 seed. Nick Meister, Ahmed Ismail and Josh Miller are all entered in the Invitational singles draw. Meister is seeded No. 4 in that draw. The Bruins have two teams entered in the main doubles draw, as Meister and Harel Srugo are seeded third. Joining them is the Bruin tandem of Dehaine and Seguso. Drean and Look at the top-seeded doubles team in the Invitational draw. Ismail and Miller are also entered.

Past Winners
The last UCLA player to win a main draw singles title in Ojai was Marcin Matkowski, who defeated Washington's Alex Vlaski, 6-4, 6-2 in the 2003 final. Chris Surapol is the Bruins' last Invitational singles champion, defeating Stanford's Carter Morris for the 2004 title. Current Bruins Mathieu Dehaine and Jeremy Drean were named main draw doubles champions in 2006 after teammates Philipp Gruendler and Benjamin Kohlloeffel were unable to play in the final when Kohlloeffel became sick the night before. UCLA's last Invitational doubles champions were Lassi Ketola and Travis Rettenmaier in 2000.

The Women
Riza Zalameda, Tracy Lin, Andrea Remynse and Elizabeth Lumpkin are all entered in the main singles draw in Ojai. Zalameda and Lin are seeded No. 4 and No. 8, respectively. Players in the Invitational singles draw include: fourth-seeded Alex McGoodwin, Stephanie Wetmore, Anna-Viktoria Lind, Becky Duesler and Sarah Yang. Lin and Zalameda are the top-seeded team in the main doubles draw. Lumpkin and Wetmore are also competing in that draw. McGoodwin and Yasmin Schnack are seeded fourth in the Invitational draw. Two other Bruin teams - Lumpkin/Wetmore and Lind/Remynse - are also competing.

Ojai Winners
Sara Walker is the Bruins' last main draw singles champion in Ojai, defeating ASU's Allison Bradshaw, 6-1, 6-1 in the final that year. Although they aren't teaming together this year, Yasmin Schnack and Riza Zalameda are the defending Pac-10 Doubles Champions, defeating Stanford's Lindsay Burdette/Anne Yelsey, 6-1, 6-0. Ashley Joelson is UCLA's lone Invitational singles champion, winning the title in 2006.

New Rankings Issued This Week
UCLA's men check in at a season-high No. 3 this week in the national rankings issued by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The Bruin women moved up a spot from No. 6 to No. 5. Individually, UCLA boasts the No. 1 doubles team in the nation, as Tracy Lin and Riza Zalameda ascended to the top spot this week. Click HERE to see where all the Bruin players are ranked this week.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network