Miller Advances to Quarterfinals of Invitational Singles at Pac-10 Championships

April 24, 2008

The No. 21 Arizona State men's tennis team opened day one of the 2008 Pac-10 Men's Tennis Championships at the Ojai Valley Tennis Club in Ojai, Calif., with one member of the team advancing to the quarterfinals. Competing in the Pac-10 Invitational Singles, Wes Miller was the lone Sun Devil to advance past the round of 16.

Miller, a four seed in the Invitational Singles, advanced past the round of 32 by battling through two tough sets against Oregon's Duncan MacDonald-Korth to win 7-6, 7-5. He moved onto the quarterfinals by defeating California's Geoffrey Chizever 6-4, 6-2.

ASU had two of the four players in the Singles Championship draw advance past the Round of 32. No. 3 seed Matt Brooklyn earned a first-round 6-4, 6-4 victory against Stanford's Gregory Hirshman but fell 6-4, 6-3 to UCLA's Nicolas Meister in the Round of 16. Juan Carlos Rebaza picked up a Round of 32 win by defeating Washington's Derek Drabble 7-6 (6), 6-1. Rebaza then dropped a 6-4, 6-3 match to No. 2 seed Kaes Van't Hof of USC.

The Pac-10 Championships continue tomorrow. Miller will compete against USC's Daniel Gliner in the quarterfinals of the Invitational Singles. The doubles teams of Matt Brooklyn and T.J. Bellama and the team of Andres Arango and Harry Skinner will compete in the Doubles Championships while the team of Miller and John Nanosky II will compete in the Invitational Doubles.

Invitational Singles:
Round of 32
David Chu (WASH) def. Murilo Souza (ASU) 7-6, 5-7, 6-3
No. 4 Wes Miller (ASU) def. Duncan MacDonald-Korth (Ore) 7-6, 7-5
Jeffrey A. Zeller (Stan) def. Patrick Brogan (ASU) 7-5, 3-6, 7-5
Josh Miller (UCLA) def. Jack Marsh (ASU) 6-2, 6-0
Andrew Piotrowski (USC) def. John Nanosky (ASU) 7-6 (7-3), 6-2
Round of 16
No. 4 Wes Miller (ASU) def. Geoffrey Chizever (CAL) 6-4, 6-2

Singles Championships
Round of 32
Pedro Zerbini (Cal) def. No. 8 Andres Arango (ASU) 6-2, 1-0 ret (inj)
Andy Kuharzky (Wash) def. Harry Skinner (ASU) 6-1, 0-6, 6-4
No. 3 Matt Brooklyn def. Gregory Hirshman (Stan) 6-4, 6-4
Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) def. Derek Drabble (Wash) 7-6 (6), 6-1
Round of 16
Nicolas Meister (UCLA) def. Matt Brooklyn (ASU) 6-4, 6-3
No. 2 Kaes Van't Hof (USC) def. Juan Carlos Rebaza (ASU) 6-4, 6-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder