Pac-10 Announces Winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year, Presented by Toyo Tires

April 24, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- The Pacific-10 Conference has named the winter Scholar-Athletes of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The Pac-10 Scholar-Athletes for winter, include:

Robbie Cowgill, Washington State - Men's Basketball, 3.36 - management and operations
Tanner Gardner, Stanford - Wrestling, 3.73/4.00 grad - public policy (undergraduate)/social work (graduate)
Steve Neuwert, Arizona State - Men's Swimming, 3.87 - interdisciplinary studies
Lacey Nymeyer, Arizona - Women's Swimming, 3.85 - physical education
Lindsey Pluimer, UCLA - Women's Basketball, 3.71 - communications studies
Karin Wurm, Arizona - Gymnastics, 3.81 - marketing

'Toyo is proud to support the Pac-10 and to acknowledge outstanding student-athletes for their efforts,' said Steve Hutchinson, senior director of marketing, Toyo Tire (U.S.A.) Corporation. 'By supporting today's achievers, we feel we are helping to grow tomorrow's leaders.'

In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

'The Pac-10 joins Toyo in recognizing these student-athletes during the 2007-08 academic year,' said Tom Hansen, Commissioner of the Pac-10. 'To be selected as the best student-athlete in any sport in the Pac-10 is a very special honor, and these are special young people, in academics as well as athletics. We are very appreciative that Toyo is helping them gain the recognition they deserve for their unique achievements.'

Other nominees included:

Men's Basketball: Brett Brielmaier, ARIZ; Taj Finger, STAN.
Women's Basketball: Jill Noe, ASU; Kaela Chapdelaine, ORE; Allison Jaskowiak, USC; Emily Florence, WASH.
Gymnastics: Nicki Wells, CAL; Yuki Lamb, OSU; Tabitha Yim, STAN; Tasha Schwikert, UCLA; Ramey Iselin, WASH.
Men's Swimming: Jernej Godec, CAL; Egan Gans, STAN; Vanni Mangoni, USC; Bret Lungaard, WASH.
Women's Swimming: Caitlin Andrew, ASU; Kelly Stravers, CAL; Felicia Casteneda, OSU; Brooke Bishop, STAN; Nicolette Teo, UCLA; Emily Goetsch, USC; Maggie Bever, WASH.
Wrestling: Jason Trulson, ASU; Garth Wara, CSUB; Joey Lucas, ORE.

To learn more about Toyo and its broad line of tires, log on to
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network