Men's Golf Plays At Pac-10 Championships April 28-30

April 25, 2008

Complete Release From Pac-10 Conference in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

ASU TRAVELS TO PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIP: The Arizona State University men's golf team travels to Fairfax, Calif., for the Pac-10 Championships held April 28-30 at the Meadow Club (par-71, 6,686 yards). The 10 schools will play 36 holes on Monday, April 28, followed by single rounds on Tuesday, April 29, and Wednesday, April 30. The Sun Devils will tee with Washington State at 7:54 a.m. for its first 36 holes on Monday. The Pac-10 Championship counts the low five scores from the six-man teams. Live scoring of the tournament will be available at ASU will be playing with two freshmen, three sophomores and one senior.

ASU AT THE PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS: Arizona State has won 11 Pac-10 titles in its 29 seasons, including a conference record six straight from 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU's other five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979 (its first year in the league), 1981, 1989, 1990 and 1993. ASU tied for the league title in 2005 with Washington but lost on a tiebreaker formula. In its past five Pac-10 championships, ASU has finished third (2003, 2006 and 2007), second (2004) and tied for first (2005).

GOING FOR EIGHT: ASU coach Randy Lein has led ASU to seven Pac-10 titles in his 15 seasons. ASU won titles in 1993, Lein's first year, and then won six straight from 1995-2000. ASU tied for first but lost in a tiebreaker in 2005, finished second in 2001 and 2004 and third in 1994, 2003, 2006 and 2007. Since joining the Pac-10 in the 1978-79 school year, ASU has finished out of the top five just twice in its 29 championships (ninth in 2002 and sixth in 1983).

ASU HEAD COACH Randy Lein: Randy Lein has coached 62 tournament victories in his 25 seasons, tutored 53 All-Americans and added the top accolade in collegiate golf in 1995-96 - the NCAA title - to his collection as the Sun Devils won the title in Chattanooga, Tenn., with a three-stroke victory over UNLV at the Honors Course. In his 16th season as ASU's coach, Lein has guided ASU to 40 tournament victories (including a school record six in 1995-96), seven Pac-10 titles, four NCAA West Regional wins (three of the past seven) and eight top-10 finishes at the NCAAs including the 1996 title. In addition, Lein has tutored NCAA medalists Todd Demsey and Alejandro Canizares and 14 All-Americans (34 occasions): Todd Demsey (3), Chris Hanell (3), Paul Casey (3), Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder (2), Scott Johnson (2), Darren Angel (2), Jeff Quinney (3), Matt Jones (2), Chez Reavie (3), Alejandro Canizares (4), Niklas Lemke (3) and Benjamin Alvarado Holley (2). He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year five times (1993, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2000) while at ASU and twice at USC (1980 and 1986). Lein (pronounced 'Line') is a 1975 graduate of Cal State Northridge.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 MEDALISTS: Paul Casey won three straight Pac-10 titles from 1998-2000, which is the last time a Sun Devil won the title and is a conference record for consecutive Pac-10 titles. Other Sun Devils who have won the Pac-10 championship are Scott Johnson (1997), Phil Mickelson (1990), co-medalists Dan Forsman and Tony Grimes (1981), Jim Bertoncino (co-medalist in 1980) and co-medalists Scott Watkins and Dan Croonquist (1979). Niklas Lemke finished second the past two seasons and tied for seventh in 2005.

NEXT UP: The 2008 NCAA West Regional will be held in Bremerton, Wash., May 15-17. The 2008 NCAA Championships will be held in West Lafayette, Ind., May 28- 31 with Purdue serving as host.

START IT OVER: Back in 2002, ASU head coach Randy Lein saw ASU's 18-year NCAA championship consecutive streak snapped in a season that had injuries and some bad luck. ASU is back in the saddle with five straight appearances, and to show you how competitive the NCAA men's golf champioships is, that five-year streak already is tied for the sixth-best active streak.

Rk.	School	Years	Current Streak1.	Oklahoma State	1947-2007	612.	Arizona	1987-2007	21T3.	Georgia Tech	1998-2007	10T3.	Georgia	1998-2007	105.	Florida	2001-2007	7T6.	Arizona State	2003-2007	5T6.	UCLA	2003-2007	5

IMPRESSIVE: Randy Lein has recruited a NCAA champion (Alejandro Canizares in 2003), a U.S. Amateur champion (Jeff Quinney in 2000), a U.S. Public Links champion (Chez Reavie in 2001), an Arizona Amateur champion (Jesse Mueller, 2001) and an English Amateur champion (Paul Casey, 1998 and 1999) to ASU.

IN THE TOP 10: Lein's nine top-10 NCAA finishes in his 15 years is second only to Clemson and Oklahoma State for the most in that span. In that time, there have been 10 different NCAA team champions, while ASU and Oklahoma State are the only schools to have two NCAA medalists in his 15 years. ASU also has finished in the top six eight times under Randy Lein.

NCAA CHAMPIONS IN THE PAST 15 YEARS(1993-2007/RANDY LEIN AT ASU)Team (NCAA Titles)	TOP 10	TOP 5	APP.Okla. St. (1995, 2000, 2006)	10	8	15Clemson (2003)	10	6	13Arizona State (1996)	9	5	14Florida (1993, 2001)	8	5	14UNLV (1998)	7	2	12Georgia (1999, 2005)	5	3	10Stanford (1994, 2007)	4	4	5Pepperdine (1997)	3	1	7California (2004)	2	1	5Minnesota (2002)	3	2	9

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP APPEARANCES: ASU has made 14 NCAA Championship appearances in Randy Lein's 15 years (1993-2007), tied for the third-best mark in the nation.

MOST NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP APPEARANCES (1993-2007)School	NCAA App.Oklahoma State	15Arizona	15Arizona State	14Florida	14Georgia Tech	13North Carolina	13Clemson	13Wake Forest	12New Mexico	12UNLV	12

FAST FACT: ASU is the only school to win both the men's and women's golf titles in the same season (1990).

REGIONAL STREAK: Counting its appearance in the 19 years a NCAA Regional has been staged (1989-2007), ASU has made 24 straight NCAA Tournament appearances, the sixth-longest active streak in the nation. ASU has advanced to the NCAA Championships 23 of the past 24 seasons (1984-2007), missing only in 2002, and in 41 of the past 43 seasons (1964-2005), missing prior to 2002 in 1983.

Longest Active NCAA Tournament AppearanceSchool, Years	NCAA StreakOklahoma State, 1947-07	61USC, 1973-07	35Texas, 1978-07	30Oklahoma, 1981-07	27Clemson, 1982-07	26Arizona State, 1984-07	24Georgia Tech, 1985-07	23*Note: List includes NCAA Championship prior to 1989 and reaching at least NCAA Regionals from 1989-present

LEIN IN TOP TEN: Coach Randy Lein has finished in the top ten at the NCAA Championship nine times in his 15 years, behind only Oklahoma State and Clemson (10 each).

NCAA TOP-10 FINISHES (1993-2007)Rk.	School	Top 10	National TitlesT1.	Clemson	10	2003T1.	Oklahoma State	10	1995, 2000, 20063.	Arizona State	9	19963.	Georgia Tech	95.	Florida	8	1993, 2001

NCAA TOP-5 FINISHES (1993-2007)Rk.	School	Top 5	National Titles1.	Oklahoma State	8	1995, 2000, 20062.	Georgia Tech	7T3.	Texas	6T3.	Clemson	6	2003T5.	Arizona State	5	1996T5.	Florida	5	1993, 2001
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network