UCLA Baseball's Alden Carrithers Named to Dick Howser Trophy Watch List

April 25, 2008

DALLAS - UCLA senior second baseman Alden Carrithers has been selected as one of 50 college baseball players to the Dick Howser Trophy watch list, the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association has announced. The Dick Howser Trophy is awarded annually to the top player in collegiate baseball.

Carrithers currently leads the Bruins' offense in many categories. The Portland, Ore., resident not only leads UCLA with a .401 batting average, .592 slugging percentage and .459 on-base percentage, but also boasts team-highs with 59 hits, 147 at-bats, 30 runs, 34 RBI, 87 total bases and 14 stolen bases.

Through 36 games, Carrithers has hit safely in 30 contests and has already posted separate hitting streaks of 11 games and 10 games. The Bruins' second baseman leads the team with 18 multi-hit games and 12 multi-RBI performances. Carrithers has notched five four-hit efforts in 2008 and has totaled seven four-hit games in two seasons at UCLA.

Carrithers is one of five Pac-10 players named to the Dick Howser Trophy watch list. Arizona State's Ike Davis, Mike Leake and Brett Wallace and California's David Cooper have also been selected to the watch list.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2008 winner will be announced at the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., on Saturday, June 14, at 8 a.m. (PT).

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

A Florida native, Howser was a two-time All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-1958), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 as a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985.