USC Swimming Elects 2008-2009 Captains

April 25, 2008

USC seniors-to-be Rebecca Soni and Katy Houston and junior-to-be James Martin and senior-to-be Kazu Miyahara have been selected as 2008-2009 USC swimming women's and men's team captains as voted by their teammates.

Soni is a two-time 2008 NCAA champion, having won her third consecutive NCAA title in the 200y breast as well as her first in the 100y breast. Soni also won her third and fourth career Pac-10 titles last season (in the 100y and 200y breast).

Houston made her third consecutive trip to the NCAA Championships this spring and was also named to the 2008 Pac-10 All-Academic second team for the second year in a row. Soni earned honorable mention honors.

Martin reached his first Pac-10 Conference Championship final this season, taking eighth in the 400y IM. He was also a consolation finalist in the 200y back. Miyahara has been among USC's top breaststrokers each year as a Trojan and was a three-time participant at the 2008 Pac-10s.

Both were also tabbed as 2008 Pac-10 All-Academic honorable mention picks.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network