Zalameda Wins 2008 Pac-10 Singles Championship

April 27, 2008

Ojai, Calif. - The UCLA women's tennis team enjoyed an outstanding final day at the 2008 Pac-10 Championships on Sunday, as Riza Zalameda, Alex McGoodwin and Andrea Remynse all took home titles.

The biggest win of the day went to Zalameda, who took a 6-3, 6-4 victory over second-seeded Amanda Fink of USC, becoming the Bruins' first Pac-10 Singles Champion since Sara Walker in 2000. The win was especially gratifying for the Bruin senior, who had lost to Fink less than 10 days ago in UCLA's 5-2 dual-match victory over the Women of Troy.

'It was a big incentive to be able to redeem myself from last week,' said Zalameda, who evened her all-time record against Fink to 3-3. 'I learned a lot from the loss last week and I think it really helped me out today. I didn't play that well, but I stuck to my game plan and fought for every point, every game and every opportunity. It was all about guts today.'

The fourth-seeded McGoodwin also capped off the tournament in impressive fashion, winning the Invitational singles title before teaming with Remynse to take the doubles crown. McGoodwin downed Arizona State's Wendy Pilecka, 7-6(7), 6-1 in the singles final, joining 2006 winner Ashley Joelson as the Bruins' two champions in that event. McGoodwin and Remynse were extremely dominant in doubles, losing just one game en route to an 8-1 victory over Cal's Rachael Dillon/Daron Moore.

'I'm really pleased with the way we finished this tournament,' said UCLA head coach Stella Sampras Webster. 'For Riza to win the title in her senior year against Amanda is a great accomplishment and I think really helps her confidence going into the postseason. I also thought it was great to see Alex do well because she hasn't played a lot of matches this season due to injury. This is a great confidence boost for her as well. It was just a great day today.'

Complete draws from the Pac-10 Championships can be accessed by clicking HERE

Selections for the NCAA Tournament are announced on Tuesday.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network