GymDawgs Honored for the 2008 Season

April 28, 2008

Seattle, Wash. - The Huskies honored the top performers of 2008 during their annual year-end awards banquet on Sunday at the Don James Center in Husky Stadium. Freshman Samantha Walior (Prior Lake, Minn.) received the 'Creating Winners in Competition' award, given to the team's MVP. In her first year as a collegian, Walior competed in all three of her events in all 13 meets and never counted a fall.

Fellow freshman Karen Cain (Kyle, Texas), who has made the Dean's List in both of her quarters at the UW, earned the 'Creating Winners in the Classroom' award. Senior Nikki Waiss (Mill Creek, Wash.), who began her Husky career five years ago at age 16, was named the winner of the 'Creating Winners in Life' award.

The Husky coaching staff also presented Special Recognition awards, including a Most Improved honor for Cain. Waiss was honored as an Event Specialist along with junior Ashley Houghting (Welland, Ont.). Freshman Haley Bogart (Woodside, Calif.), who earned a bid to the 2008 NCAA Championships, was honored with the team's 'Heart of a Champion' award. Senior Raimey Iselin (Lake Tapps, Wash.) was recognized with the Leadership Award, and Cain picked up her third accolade of the day with the Top Dawg of the Year honor.

In addition to the awards handed out Sunday, various Huskies were also honored earlier this month. Senior Associate Athletic Director for Sports Programs, Marie Tuite, was named the Women's Gymnastics West Regional Administrator of the Year for her contributions to the sport and the Husky program during the 2008 season. Five Washington gymnasts also earned All-Pac-10 honors, including first-team floor selection Houghting.

2008 UW Gymnastics Team Awards
Creating Winners:
...In Competition (MVP) -
Samantha Walior
...In the Classroom (Academic Award) - Karen Cain
...In Life (Coaches Award) - Nikki Waiss

Special Recognition Awards:
• Most Improved - Karen Cain
• Event Specialist - Nikki Waiss & Ashley Houghting
• Heart of a Champion - Haley Bogart
• Leadership - Raimey Iselin
• Top Dawg of the Year - Karen Cain

Academic Awards:
• 101 Club Scholar Athlete Award (Senior) - Jennifer Chang
• Provost Award for Academic Excellence - Kristen Omori
• Academic All Pac-10 Conference (6): Second Team - Emily Epsten, Kristen Omori; Honorable Mention: Katie Boyko, Kelly Gilbert, Raimey Iselin, Nikki Waiss
• Dean's List: Fall Quarter - Haley Bogart, Karen Cain, Jennifer Chang, Kristen Omori, Nikki Waiss; Winter Quarter - Karen Cain, Raimey Iselin, Kelly Gilbert, Kristen Omori
• Team GPA: Fall Quarter - 3.4 (1st place in athletic department); Winter Quarter - 3.3 (4th place in athletic department)

2008 Letter Winners
Freshmen: Haley Bogart, Karen Cain, Kristen Linton, Samantha Walior
Sophomores: Cassidy Lance
Juniors: Katie Boyko, Emily Epsten, Kelly Gilbert, Ashley Houghting, Kristen Omori
Seniors: Jennifer Chang, Raimey Iselin, Nikki Waiss

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder