Six Pac-10 Men's and Seven Women's Tennis Teams Headed to NCAA Tournament

April 30, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS - The full fields have been announced for the upcoming NCAA Men's and Women's Tennis Championships. Six Pac-10 men's teams and seven women's teams will begin their quest for an NCAA title at regional sites on May 9-10. Third-seeded UCLA and sixth-seeded USC will host regionals on the men's side, while fourth-seeded Stanford, seventh-seeded UCLA, eighth-seeded California and tenth-seeded USC will all host first round matches.

The Bruin men captured the Pac-10 regular season title and automatic bid, earning the right to host and play Eastern Washington in the first round. The Washington Huskies will travel to Los Angeles and will open their tournament against Wisconsin on UCLA's campus.

USC will host Southern University in its first round matchup and their regional will also host a second Pac-10 team as California travels south to take on Boise State in the first round.

The Stanford Cardinal also travel south as they head to Malibu, Calif., and the regional hosted by Pepperdine, where they will face UC-Santa Barbara. Arizona State has the longest trip of any Pac-10 school, having to head all the way to Chapel Hill, N.C. where they will face Duke in the regional hosted by North Carolina.

Six Pac-10 men and one doubles team were chosen to represent the Conference in the individual and doubles tournament, which will be conducted May 21-26 in Tulsa, Okla. following the team championships. USC's Robert Farah earned the Conference's automatic bid and the No. 6 seed. He will be joined by teammates Jaak Poldma and Kaes Van't Hof as well as Stanford's No. 8 seeded Alex Clayton and UCLA's Mathieu Dehaine and Harel Srugo. Farah and Van't Hof were the lone doubles team to make the field, but they will be seeded second of the 16 teams.

On the women's side, Stanford will host a regional site where they will face Boston University in the first round. Washington will travel to Palo Alto as well, as they will face Texas A&M.

UCLA and USC both will host regionals in Los Angeles, Calif. with the Bruins facing Buffalo in the first round while the Trojans will open with Marist.

Another region with two Pac-10 teams sets up in Berkeley, Calif. as the Golden Bears open the tournament versus Army and are joined by Washington State in the regional as the Cougars must face LSU on California's campus.

Arizona State is the only Conference team forced to travel as they head to Fresno, Calif. and the regional hosted by Fresno State. The Sun Devils will take on Sacramento State in their first match.

Individually, Stanford's Hilary Barte took the Pac-10's automatic bid, but she will see a lot of familiar competition as the Pac-10 will send 16 other individuals to the tournament. Four of the eight seeded players come from the Conference as Barte garners the No. 3 seed, California's Marina Cossou is seeded fifth, USC's Amanda Fink ranks sixth and UCLA's Riza Zalameda takes the No. 8 seed, coming off her Pac-10 individual title.

Rounding out the Conference selections are Danielle Steinberg of Arizona, Nadia Abdala and Kelcy McKenna of Arizona State, Susie Babos, Claire Ilcinkas, and Cristina Visico of California, Stanford's Jessica Nguyen, UCLA's Tracey Lin, Andrea Remynse and Yasmin Schnack, USC's Gabriela Niculescu, Washington's Venise Chan and Washington State's Ekaterina Burduli.

UCLA's doubles team of Zalameda and Lin will enter the doubles tournament as the top seed and will be joined by the Laila and Nadia Abdala from Arizona State, Babos and Stephanie Kusano of California, Fink and Niculeascu of USC and Barte and Lindsay Burdette from Stanford.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder