Field Set For NCAA Men's Golf West Regional at Gold Mountain

May 5, 2008

  • Tournament Central

    SEATTLE - The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee announced the 27 teams and six individuals selected to participate in the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's Golf West Regional to be hosted by Washington at Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, May 15-17, Monday.

    The host Huskies earned an at-large berth in the West and will be making their 13th-straight regional appearance. UW received the No. 21 seed and will be joined by many of the nation's top teams in Bremerton. Washington's regional will feature the defending NCAA team champion in Stanford and the defending NCAA individual medalist in USC's Jamie Lovemark. USC received the No. 1 seed in the West Region (second overall), while UCLA, Florida State, Stanford and Clemson round out the top five seeds heading to the Northwest.

    The top 10 teams and the top two individuals not on an advancing team from each of the three regional sites will move on to compete in the NCAA Championships hosted by Purdue in West Lafayette, Ind., May 28-31.The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga is the host of the East Regional and Ohio State will play host to the Central Regional.

    Admission to the NCAA West Regional at Gold Mountain is free to the public. A practice round will be held Wednesday, May 14, beginning at 8 a.m. PT. Tee times for each of the 18-hole rounds will begin each day at 7 a.m. PT.

    The Field
    (In order of seed) No. 1 USC, No. 2 UCLA, No. 3 Florida State, No. 4 Stanford, No. 5 Clemson, No. 6 UNLV, No. 7 North Carolina, No. 8 Texas Tech, No. 9 Central Florida, No. 10 Arizona State, No. 11 San Diego State, No. 12 Texas, No. 13 LSU, No. 14 Oregon State, No. 15 Pepperdine, No. 16 Oregon, No. 17 California, No. 18 St. Mary's, No. 19 Kentucky, No. 20 Wisconsin, No. 21 Washington, No. 22 Oklahoma, No. 23 Kansas State, No. 24 San Diego, No. 25 Denver, No. 26 Navy, No. 27 Columbia.

    The individuals are Troy Merritt of Boise State, Brian Locke of Loyola Marymount, Tarquin Macmanus of Arizona, Jason D'Amore of Loyola Marymount, Nathan Stamey of North Carolina-Greensboro and Jimmy Lytle of Elon.

    Fifty-four holes of stroke play golf over three days will decide the team and individual champions. The tournament features 18 holes of play each day starting at 7 a.m. PT. The final groups on Thursday, May 15 will tee off at 1:43 p.m. with the final groups on Friday, May 16, and Saturday, May 17 teeing off at 1:37 p.m.

    Teams will consist of five players (with four scores counting each day toward the team total). First and second round team pairings are determined by seeding. Following the second round of competition, team scores shall determine pairings. Split tees (No. 1 and No. 10) will be used during each round.

    Live scoring of the NCAA West Regional Championship will be available at Results will also be available on Washington's official athletic website,

    Noting the Teams
    The 2008 NCAA West Regional features 15 teams ranked in the Top-50 of the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. That list includes third-ranked USC, No. 4 UCLA, No. 7 Stanford, No. 10 Florida State, No. 15 UNLV, No. 18 Clemson, No. 19 Arizona State, No. 24 Texas Tech, No. 30 North Carolina, No. 33 Texas, No. 35 Pepperdine, No. 37 San Diego State, No. 41 LSU, No. 42 California, and No. 44 Oregon State...The Regional field includes six conference champions in Florida State (ACC), Arizona State (Pac-10), San Diego (West Coast), Denver (Sun Belt), Navy (Patriot League) and Columbia (Ivy League)...Stanford is the defending NCAA team champion, winning the 2007 team title by 12 strokes over Georgia...The Regional field also includes eight Pac-10 teams.

    Noting the Individuals
    The 2008 NCAA West Regional field features 18 individuals ranked in the latest GolfWeek Sagarin Performance Index Top-50. That list includes No. 3 Kevin Chappell (UCLA), No. 4 Jamie Lovemark (USC), No. 7 Jonas Blixt (Florida State), No. 8 Rory Hie (USC), No. 12 Sihwan Kim (Stanford), No. 13 Troy Merritt (Boise State), No. 15 Kevin O'Connell (North Carolina), No. 27 Jhared Hack (UCF), No. 29 Charlie Holland (Texas), No. 30 Andrea Putnam (Pepperdine), No. 31 Seung Su-Han (UNLV), No. 32 James Allenby (Oregon State), No. 37 Jesper Kennegard (Arizona State), No. 38 Matt Savage (Florida State), No. 39 Rob Grube (Stanford), No. 44 Erik Flores (UCLA), No. 46 Aaron Goldberg (San Diego State) and No. 47 Matthew Giles (USC)...additional notable individuals include Clemson sophomore Kyle Stanley - a native of Gig Harbor, Wash., and the NCAA runner-up as a freshman last year.

    The Course
    Gold Mountain Golf Club is located in Bremerton, Wash., on the Olympic Peninsula, just over 60 miles from the UW campus in Seattle. The West Regional field will play Gold Mountain's Olympic Course at par 72 and 7,111 yards. Gold Mountain has served as the site for many of Washington's annual Husky Invitational tournaments, as well as the 2006 U.S. Amateur Public Links and the 2007 Washington State Amateur.

    Spectators must remain on cart paths or in the rough and approximately 15 yards from the players at all times (including practice areas). There may be no communication between players and spectators that could be deemed advice of any nature for the duration of the 18 holes. Ringers on electronic devices must be turned off. Spectators must refrain from smoking. Carts will not be provided for spectators.

    Central Regional Field hosted by Ohio State
    1. Alabama, No. 2 Oklahoma State, No. 3 Georgia Tech, No. 4 Florida, No. 5 Tennessee, No. 6 Lamar, No. 7 Wake Forest, No. 8 Indiana, No. 9 Texas A&M, No. 10 Louisville, No. 11 Wichita State, No. 12 Kent State, No. 13 Penn State, No. 14 Arkansas, No. 15 Michigan, No. 16 TCU, No. 17 Texas-Arlington, No. 18 Illinois, No. 19 Ohio State, No. 20 Baylor, No. 21 Colorado, No. 22 Eastern Kentucky, No. 23 Marquette, No. 24 Eastern Michigan, No. 25 Cleveland State, No. 26 Loyola, No. 27 Sacred Heart.

    East Regional Field hosted by Tennessee-Chattanooga
    No. 1 Georgia, No. 2 Charlotte, No. 3 South Carolina, No. 4 Duke, No. 5 Chattanooga, No. 6 Auburn, No. 7 East Tennessee State, No. 8 Michigan State, No. 9 Mississippi, No. 10 UAB, No. 11 Virginia Tech, No. 12 N.C. State, No. 13. Mississippi State, No. 14. Georgia State, No. 15. North Florida, No. 16 UC Irvine, No. 17 Augusta State, No. 18 SMU, No. 19 Middle Tennessee, No. 20 Coastal Carolina, No. 21 Memphis, No. 22 Virgina, No. 23 Western Carolina, No. 24 Colorado State, No. 25 New Mexico, No. 26. Western Illinois and No. 27 Jackson State.

    Washington At NCAA Regionals
    The Huskies are making their 13th-straight NCAA Regional appearance. Washington won a share of the regional crown in 2002, and notched back-to-back runner-up standings in 2006 and 2005. Last year, the Huskies finished 14th at the NCAA West Regional in Tempe, Ariz. Current UW senior Zach Bixler owns the top Husky individual finish at a regional, placing third when he was a sophomore in 2006. Bixler is the only current player with any regional experience heading into this year's event.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    4:15 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network