Stanford Receives Fourth Seed In NCAA West Regional

May 5, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - Seventh-ranked Stanford was named as the fourth seed in the NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships West Regional hosted by the University of Washington at the Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash. and will begin play in the three day, 54-hole tournament on May 15, as announced today by the NCAA. Stanford is coming off a fifth place finish at the Pac-10 Championships and will face many familiar teams in the field of 27.

The top-10 finishing teams at each regional will then move on to the championships, which will be conducted May 28-31 on the Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Indiana. Purdue University is the host institution for this year's championships.

The Cardinal will be looking to repeat as national champions, having own last year's championship in Virginia. The Cardinal finished with a 12-stroke victory over the University of Georgia (1,121), Lamar University (1,125) and University of North Carolina at Charlotte (1,125). It was their first NCAA title since 1994 and eighth overall.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the NCAA West Regional. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Gold Mountain Golf Club - Bremerton, Washington
Hosted by University of Washington

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Southern California
3. Florida State (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Stanford
5. Clemson
7. North Carolina
8. Texas Tech
9. Central Florida
10. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
11. San Diego State
12. Texas
13. LSU
14. Oregon State
15. Pepperdine
16. Oregon
17. California
18. St. Mary's - California
19. Kentucky
20. Wisconsin
21. Washington
22. Oklahoma
23. Kansas State
24. San Diego (West Coast Conference)
25. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
26. Navy (The Patriot League)
27. Columbia (Ivy Group)

Individuals Qualified From Non-Advancing Teams:
1. Troy Merritt, Boise State
2. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
3. Tarquin Macmanus, Arizona
4. Jason D'Amore, Loyola Marymount
5. Nathan Stamey, North Carolina-Greensboro
6. Jimmy Lytle, Elon

To see a complete list of qualified teams and individuals, please view the complete release from the NCAA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder