Troy Top Seed In NCAA Championships West Regional

May 5, 2008

The USC men's golf team, ranked No. 3 in the latest Top 25 poll and winner of two of its last three tournaments, will make its 38th consecutive NCAA Championships appearance after it was tabbed as the No. 1 seed in the 2007 NCAA Championships West Regional, the NCAA announced on Monday (May 5).

Three 27-team regional tournaments (including six individual players) will be conducted May 15-17 to determine the final championship field, set for May 28-31 on the Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Ind. Purdue University is the host institution for this year's championships.

Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

USC, under second-year coach Chris Zambri, who last week was named the 2008 Pac-10 Men's Golf Coach of the Year, is one of eight Pac-10 schools that qualified for the 81-team field and all eight were placed in the West Regional. Washington State and Arizona were the only Pac-10 schools that did not get selected.

In addition to USC, seven other schools ranked in the current Top 25 will play in the West Regional. They are No. 4 UCLA, No. 7 Stanford, No. 10 Florida State, No. 15 UNLV, No. 18 Clemson, No. 19 Arizona State, and No. 24 Texas Tech.

A year ago, USC tied for third in the 2007 NCAA Championships West Regional while then-freshman Jamie Lovemark tied for second individually. The Trojans, who have won for NCAA individual titles, are after their first NCAA team title.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Council Fire Golf Club - Chattanooga, Tenn.
Hosted by University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. Georgia
2. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
3. South Carolina
4. Duke
5. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
6. Auburn
7. East Tennessee State
8. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
9. Mississippi
10. UAB (Conference USA)
11. Virginia Tech
12. North Carolina State
13. Mississippi State
14. Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Conference)
15. North Florida (Atlantic Sun Conference)
16. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
17. Augusta State
18. SMU
19. Middle Tennessee
20. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
21. Memphis
22. Virginia
23. Western Carolina
24. Colorado State (Mountain West Conference)
25. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
26. Western Illinois (The Summit League)
27. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Keegan Bradley, St. John's (New York)
2. Jose Toledo, New Orleans
3. Johnny Caldwell, South Alabama
4. Michael McGrady, Troy
5. Jon Curran, Vanderbilt
6. Grant Leaver, Austin Peay State

Scarlet Golf Course - Columbus, Ohio
Hosted by The Ohio State University

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. Alabama (Southeastern Conference)
2. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
3. Georgia Tech
4. Florida
5. Tennessee
6. Lamar (Southland Conference)
7. Wake Forest
8. Indiana
9. Texas A&M
10. Louisville
11. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)
12. Kent State
13. Penn State
14. Arkansas
15. Michigan
16. TCU
17. Texas-Arlington
18. Illinois
19. Ohio State
20. Baylor
21. Colorado
22. Eastern Kentucky (Ohio Valley Conference)
23. Marquette (Big East Conference)
24. Eastern Michigan (Mid-American Conference)
25. Cleveland State (Horizon League)
26. Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
27. Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference)

1. Chris Baker, Iowa State
2. Clayton Rask, Minnesota
3. Josh Sandman, Notre Dame
4. Victor Almstrom, Minnesota
5. Brent Long, Western Kentucky
6. Jordan Weber, Northern Iowa

Gold Mountain Golf Club - Bremerton, Wash.
Hosted by University of Washington

Teams (seeded in the following order)
1. USC
3. Florida State (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Stanford
5. Clemson
7. North Carolina
8. Texas Tech
9. Central Florida
10. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)
11. San Diego State
12. Texas
13. LSU
14. Oregon State
15. Pepperdine
16. Oregon
17. California
18. St. Mary's (California)
19. Kentucky
20. Wisconsin
21. Washington
22. Oklahoma
23. Kansas State
24. San Diego (West Coast Conference)
25. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
26. Navy (The Patriot League)
27. Columbia (Ivy Group)

1. Troy Merritt, Boise State
2. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
3. Tarquin Macmanus, Arizona
4. Jason D'Amore, Loyola Marymount
5. Nathan Stamey, North Carolina-Greensboro
6. Jimmy Lytle, Elon

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder