Wallace Watch List Narrowed Down

May 5, 2008

Lubbock, Texas - The field of candidates aiming for the 2008 Brooks Wallace College Player of the Year Award was reduced to 100 on Sunday, as announced by the College Baseball Foundation in Lubbock, TX. Brett Wallace (Arizona State) was a 2007 semifinalists who is now in pursuit of this year's award. The Wallace Award is presented annually to the nation's top collegiate baseball player and will be nationally televised on Fox College Sports.

The 2008 award banquet will be held on Wednesday, July 2, at 7 p.m. in the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center. Information regarding the sale of individual tickets, as well as group and corporate tables, is available by calling (806) 777 - 8277 or through the College Baseball Foundation website at www.collegebaseballfoundation.org.

The selection committee will narrow the 'Wallace Watch' throughout the remainder of the season and the three Wallace Award finalists will be announced following NCAA Super Regional play. Along with their head coaches and parents, the finalists will be invited to Lubbock from July 2-4 to participate in the College Baseball Foundation's 'Past Meets Present' celebration of college baseball. The 2008 College Baseball Hall of Fame Inductees will also be present for the three days of festivities.

The Wallace Award is a dedication to the memory of the former Texas Tech player and assistant coach Brooks Wallace. Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District his senior year. He led the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament in 1980. After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984, he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27. The Plano, TX, native was married to the former Sandy Arnold and they had one daughter, Lindsay Ryan.

Pac-10 Players on Top 100 List

Preston Guilmet, Arizona
Mike Leake, Arizona State
Tommy Rafferty, Arizona State
Ike Davis, Arizona State
Brett Wallace, Arizona State
Kevin Miller, California
David Cooper, California
Josh Satin, California
Eric Davis, Stanford
Jason Castro, Stanford
Alden Carrithers, UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network