Seventh-Seeded UCLA Women's Tennis to Host Buffalo in NCAA First Round

May 6, 2008

UCLA to Host NCAA Regionals at the Los Angeles Tennis Center
The seventh-seeded UCLA women's tennis team (18-5) will host a four-team NCAA Regional at the Los Angeles Tennis Center this weekend, with the winner advancing to the 16-team NCAA Championships, May 15-20 in Tulsa, Okla. Action gets underway on Friday, with Long Beach State (19-6) taking on Denver (22-2) beginning at 10:00 a.m. That match will be followed by UCLA vs. Buffalo (12-8) at 1:00 p.m. Friday's winners will meet in the second round on Saturday at 3:00 p.m. Tickets for the NCAA Regionals are $7 for adults and $5 for youth/students. Live stats for all the matches can be accessed by clicking HERE

Bruins Earn No. 7 Seed
At No. 7, UCLA has equaled its highest seeding since the NCAA began seeding the top 16 teams back in 1999. The Bruins have also earned a No. 7 seed on two prior occasions (1999 and 2002). Only twice in the last 10 years has UCLA not been seeded (2001 and 2006), and the Bruins posted upsets to advance to the round of 16 both times. The lone year that UCLA did not make it through regionals was 1999, as the seventh-seeded Bruins were upset by South Alabama that year.

2008 NCAA Tournament Bracket

A Year Ago at the Championships
The Bruins surprised everyone but themselves a year ago, becoming the lowest seeded team to reach the NCAA Final since the new seeding format was adopted in 1999. Checking in at No. 12, UCLA posted upsets over No. 5 Northwestern, No. 4 Florida and No. 1 Stanford en route to the final. UCLA came just one win shy of the school's first NCAA Championship in women's tennis, however, as the Bruins dropped a 4-2 decision to No. 3 Georgia Tech.

NCAA Tournament History
UCLA's best team showing at the NCAA Championships is second place, as the Bruins have finished runner-up on five occasions (1982, 1989, 1991, 2004 and 2008). UCLA actually won the national title a year before the NCAA became the governing body of women's athletics (UCLA's 1981 title is from the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women - AIAW). The Bruins have advanced to the round of 16 in each of the last eight seasons. The only time in program history that UCLA did not reach the round of 16 was 1999.

Did You Know?
UCLA owns a 10-5 record against teams that made the 64-team NCAA Championships. Four of the Bruins' five losses this season have come against team that have earned seeds in the tournament (No. 4 Stanford, No. 5 Baylor, No. 8 Cal and No. 15 North Carolina). Arizona State is the only un-seeded team to beat UCLA this year.

UCLA Players Selected for NCAA Individual Tournament
Headlined by eighth-seeded Riza Zalameda, the Bruins will have four players competing in the NCAA Singles Championships. UCLA's other three entrants into the 64-player singles draw include Tracy Lin, Yasmin Schnack and Andrea Remynse. In doubles, the Bruins have the top-seeded team in Lin and Zalameda. UCLA's last NCAA Singles Champion was Keri Phebus, who won the title back in 1995. The last Bruin doubles team to win a championship was the duo of Daniela Bercek and Lauren Fisher back in 2004.

Bruins Capture First-Ever Pac-10 Title
UCLA captured the program's first-ever Pac-10 Championship on April 18, defeating No. 10 USC, 5-2, to end the conference season 7-1. The Bruins are co-champions with Stanford, a team which also finished with the same Pac-10 record. UCLA and Stanford split matches during the regular season, however the Cardinal won the Pac-10 counting match between the two teams, thus earning the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

UCLA Ranked No. 7 Nationally
UCLA checks in at No. 7 in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) rankings released on April 28. The Bruins, who have been ranked in the top 11 all season, have been ranked as high as No. 2 this year (Feb. 5). Individually, Riza Zalameda is the highest ranked singles player at No. 8. She is followed by No. 30 Tracy Lin, No. 42 Yasmin Schnack, No. 54 Andrea Remynse, No. 105 Elizabeth Lumpkin and No. 124 Alex McGoodwin. In doubles, Lin and Zalameda are the top-ranked team in the country for the second straight week. The duo of Lumpkin and Stephanie Wetmore is ranked No. 56. New rankings will not be released again until the end of the season.

Complete ITA Team, Singles & Doubles Rankings (April 28)

Zalameda, McGoodwin Win Titles in Ojai
Senior Riza Zalameda defeated second-seeded Amanda Fink of USC, 6-3, 6-4 in the finals of the Pac-10 Championships on April 27, becoming the first Bruin player to win the main draw singles title in Ojai since Sara Walker in 2000. Zalameda, who was seeded fourth in the tournament, dropped just one set in five matches. Also winning a title at the Pac-10 Championships was senior Alex McGoodwin, who defeated Arizona State's Wendy Pilecka, 7-6(7), 6-1 in the Invitational singles final.

UCLA at the LATC
UCLA owns an 11-2 record in home matches at the Los Angeles Tennis Center this season. The Bruins' two losses were against No. 4 Baylor (5-2) and No. 6 Cal (4-3).

20 Wins Again?
With a pair of wins in NCAA Regional play this weekend, the Bruins will improve to 20-5 on the season, marking the second year in a row that UCLA has reached the 20-win mark. Last year's team, which finished 21-8 overall, was the first squad to reach 20 wins since the 1991 team finished with a 23-5 overall record.

Head Coach Stella Sampras Webster
UCLA head coach Stella Sampras Webster is in her 12th season at the helm of the Bruin women's tennis program with an overall record of 204-103. Sampras Webster has guided the Bruins to the NCAA Tournament every year of her career, highlighted by a pair of appearances in the NCAA Final (2004 and 2007). She has also led UCLA to six top-five finishes at the NCAA Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder