Alex Fletcher Named to 2008 Rimington Trophy Watch List

May 7, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - Senior Alex Fletcher is one of 42 of the top centers in college football to be included on the Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List. The Pacific-10 Conference is represented by six players while the ACC and SEC have five players each on the list.

This marks the second major award that has included Fletcher on a preseason watch list. He was also included on the preseason Outland Trophy Watch List, an award that honors the best interior lineman in the college ranks.

Fletcher, who will move from offensive guard to the center position for 2008 season, has started 31 games in his Stanford career, more than any returning starter. A native of Old Brookville, NY, Fletcher started the first 20 games of his Stanford career on the offensive line, including 12 starts at center and eight at right guard before missing the final three contests of the '06 season due to injury. He started all 12 games at right guard last season.

The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 17, 2009.The nine-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia's Dan Mozes and Arkansas' Jonathan Luigs. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $65 million for CF research.

Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All-America Center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network