Seven Pac-10 Teams Headed to NCAA Softball Tournament

May 11, 2008

Complete Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Pac-10 Conference will look to continue its softball domination as seven conference teams will head to the NCAA Softball Tournament after the field was announced Sunday night. Four of the teams garnered seeds within the bracket and two will be the site of regionals.

UCLA garnered the No. 2 overall seed and will host a regional as they face Cal State Fullerton in the first round along with hosting Purdue and Nevada.

Arizona State, ranked No. 2/2 in the most recent poll, takes the No. 6 seed and will play Stony Brook in their first round game as they look to advance to face either Hawai'i or Mississippi State.

Arizona, seeded No. 7, and Stanford, seeded 12th, face tough trips across the country to east coast regionals. The Wildcats head to the region hosted by Hofstra (located on Long Island, N.Y.) to face Canisuius in the first round.

The Cardinal travel all the way to Massachusetts to the regional hosted by UMass, where the will take on Lehigh with the hope of advancing to face the host Minutemen or Princeton.

Rounding out the field for the Conference are Washington and Oregon. The Huskies travel south to Houston, Texas where they will take on the Texas Longhorns hoping to advance to take on the host Cougars or Delaware State.

The Ducks will be just north in Norman, Okla. facing the hosting Oklahoma Sooners with the chance to advance to play Tulsa or Arkansas.

Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification, and the remaining 34 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites this weekend.

Team pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during regional competition, when possible.

Only eight schools have been crowned the NCAA Division I softball champion since the tournament started in 1982, and all are in this year's bracket.

Los Angeles Regional - May 16-18 at Los Angeles, California
Nevada (42-16) vs. Purdue (34-21)
Cal St. Fullerton (27-26-1) vs. *No. 2 seed UCLA (45-7)

Tempe Regional - May 16-18 at Tempe, Arizona
Mississippi St. (40-20) vs. Hawaii (38-18)
Stony Brook (33-21-1) vs. *No. 6 seed Arizona St. (56-5)

Hempstead Regional - May 16-18 at Hempstead, New York
No. 7 seed Arizona (36-16) vs. Canisius (38-12)
Long Island (34-15) vs. *Hofstra (43-11)

Amherst Regional - May 16-18 at Amherst, Massachusetts
* Massachusetts (36-11) vs. Princeton (25-22)
Lehigh (38-15-1) vs. No. 12 seed Stanford (46-12)

Fresno Regional - May 16-18 at Fresno, California
San Diego State (43-15) vs. California (40-24)
Sacramento State (32-19) vs. *No. 16 seed Fresno St. (51-11)

Houston Regional - May 16-18 at Houston, Texas
Washington (28-23-1) vs. Texas (28-21-2)
Delaware State (29-23) vs. *No. 8 seed Houston (50-9)

Norman Regional - May 16-18 at Norman, Oklahoma
Arkansas (36-27) vs. Tulsa (34-23)
Oregon (33-27) vs. *No. 10 seed Oklahoma (43-12)

For complete field, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder