Eight Stanford Players Honored With Pac-10 Awards

May 14, 2008

Stanford, Calif. - Eight Stanford players were honored by the Pac-10 today, when the league announced its annual all-conference awards. Sophomore catcher Rosey Neill was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year, and joined junior pitcher Missy Penna and sophomore outfielder Alissa Haber on the 14-player first team.

Stanford's three first-team selections were the most in school history, matching the number of first-team picks in 2001, 2004 and 2005. Neill joins Lauren Lappin as the school's only Pac-10 Defensive Players of the Year. Stanford has won the award three of the four years since it was instituted.

Haber earned the first first-team honor of her career after being a second-team all-conference pick as a rookie last season. The Newark, Calif. native leads the Cardinal with a .380 batting average and a .468 on-base percentage, while distinguishing herself as one of two Pac-10 players with 70 or more hits. Haber also paces the Cardinal with 44 runs and 15 doubles, both marks that rank among the top-10 single-season totals in school history.

Neill was recognized by the conference for the first time in her career. The sophomore is hitting .348 on the year with a Pac-10 best 18 homeruns, one short of the school record. Neill also paces Stanford with 49 RBI and is one of the nation's best power hitters with a .732 slugging percentage. Neill has thrown out 11 runners this season, picked off three, caught three no-hitters and leads the league with 465 putouts.

Penna earned her first first-team award and her third career All-Pac-10 honor after setting school records for single-season strikeouts (372) and wins (34). Penna, the Pac-10 win leader and three-time Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week, has thrown more innings this season than any pitcher in the league, stands second in the conference in strikeouts and ranks fourth in both ERA (1.10) and opposing average (.160).

Junior shortstop Maddy Coon named to the second team for her third consecutive all-conference honor. Coon is batting .281 and set a new school record this season with 47 walks. Her .456 on-base percentage is one of the best in the conference, and her eight homeruns and 12 doubles both rank second on the team.

Three Cardinal seniors - Tricia Aggabao, Michelle Smith and Erin Howe - earned honorable mention. Smith, who is second on the team with 40 RBI and eight homeruns, became the 11th four-time All-Pac-10 pick in school history. With a career-best 16 stolen bases, 42 runs and a .282 batting average, Aggabao earned conference recognition for the second straight year. Howe, who stepped up to post one of the league's top-five on-base percentages in conference play and hit .283 in Pac-10 games, earned the first Pac-10 honor of her career.

The Pac-10 also instituted an all-freshman team in 2008, and Cardinal rookie Melisa Koutz was picked as one of the top 14 newcomers in the conference. Koutz is hitting .230 on the year with eight doubles and has delivered three game-winning hits in conference play.

Conference champion Arizona State put its name on all of the top awards. Mindy Cowles shared the Defensive Player of the Year award with Neill, while Clint Myers was named Coach of the Year. Katie Burkhart and Kaitlin Cochran repeated as Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year and Player of the Year, respectively, while freshman Krista Donnenwirth was named the Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year.

Stanford meets Lehigh in its first game of the 2008 NCAA Tournament on Friday at 2:30 p.m. (ET) at the Amherst Regional hosted by the University of Massachusetts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder