Forood, Barte Honored As ITA Northwest Region Award Winners

May 14, 2008

NCAA Championships Tournament Central

TULSA, Okla.- Head coach Lele Forood and freshman Hilary Barte have been honored as Northwest Regional award winners by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

All regional award winners become nominees for the same award on the national ballot. The national award winners will be announced at the ITA annual awards banquet next weekend during the NCAA Championships in Tulsa, Okla.

Forood has been selected as the ITA Northwest Region Coach of the Year after guiding Stanford to its 23rd consecutive appearance in the NCAA round of 16. The 2003 ITA National Coach of the Year and three-time Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Forood has chalked up an unthinkable 213-9 overall record while capturing five NCAA team titles and eight straight Pac-10 championships during her tenure on The Farm.

Now in her eighth season, she has led this year's Cardinal squad to a 21-4 overall mark and a share of the program's 21st consecutive conference title. She picked up her 200th career victory back on Mar. 4 in a 5-2 victory over William & Mary. Stanford is making its 27th straight NCAA appearance this year and battles No. 13 Clemson on Thursday, May 15, in the NCAA round of 16.

Other finalists for ITA National Coach of the Year include: Kevin Epley (William & Mary), Jaime Ashworth (Duke), Jeff Wallace (Georgia), Claire Pollard (Northwestern), Michael Hegarty (Arkansas), Joey Scrivano (Baylor) and Sheila McInerney (Arizona State).

Barte, a 5-5 lefty from Chatsworth, Calif., has been tabbed as the ITA Northwest Region Rookie of the Year after an impressive freshman season. She is currently the No. 3-ranked singles player in the country, sporting an overall record of 28-6 and dual match mark of 21-3. She is 18-0 at the No. 1 spot of the lineup since taking over in that role back on Feb. 22 and pieced together a 19-match winning streak before retiring due to injury in a match at the Pac-10 Championships. Barte is 16-2 against Pac-10 foes and 19-4 versus nationally-ranked opponents.

Barte is bidding to become the first freshman in school history to win at least 30 overall matches and 20 duals since 2004, when Theresa Logar posted a 38-4 overall mark and was 27-0 in dual match action. Furthermore, Barte needs just two more wins at the No. 1 position to become the first player in school history to finish undefeated at that spot while playing in at least 20 matches.

Other finalists for ITA National Rookie of the Year include: Ellah Nze (Duke), Bianca Aboubakare (Brown), Julia Cohen (Florida), Maria Mosolova (Northwestern), Ana Maria Constantinescu (Oklahoma), Taylor Ormond (Baylor) and Kelcy McKenna (Arizona State).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network