Jason Castro Named A Semifinalist For 2008 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award

May 14, 2008

Wichita Greater Sports Commission

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford junior catcher Jason Castro was named one of 12 semifinalists for the 2008 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by AT&T and Papa John's Pizza, the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today.

Castro, a native of Castro Valley, is enjoying a career year on The Farm in 2008, batting .366 with 11 home runs, 11 doubles, and a team-leading toal of 52 RBI. The durable backstop is one of only three Cardinal players to have started all 50 games through May 14, and also leads Stanford in at bats (205), hits (75), and runs scored (54).

In 2008, Castro has also enjoyed a pair of lengthy hitting streaks. He hit safely in eight consecutive contests from March 1-21, then put together a career-best 13-game hitting streak from April 16-May 4 in which he batted .491 (28-for-57) with a pair of doubles, two home runs, 21 RBI, and 20 runs scored.

The Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award is presented annually at the Greater Wichita Sports Banquet to the nation's top collegiate catcher, as voted on by the national voting committee which is comprised of sportswriters, sportscasters, Division I coaches and scouts.

The 12 semifinalists for this award are (in alphabetical order):

Mitch Abeita, University of Nebraska
Jason Castro, Stanford University
Dock Doyle, Coastal Carolina University
Kevin Dubler, Illinois State University
Tim Federowicz, University of North Carolina
Jake Jefferies, University of California, Davis
Corey Kemp, East Carolina University
Petey Paramore, Arizona State University
Josh Phegley, Indiana University
Buster Posey, Florida State University
Shea Robin, Vanderbilt University
Adam Zornes, Rice University

Statistical information will be compiled on each of the semifinalists and sent to the national voting committee for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3, 2008.

A final vote among the national selection committee will occur during the College World Series. All three finalists and their coaches will be invited to Wichita for the 11th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2008 in Wichita. Johnny Bench will present the award to the recipient.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network