Men's Golf Tied For 17th After First Day of West Regional

May 15, 2008

Click here for a Golfstat's live scoring pages and full results

Pac-10 Champion Arizona State is tied for 17th after shooting a 16-over-par 304 after the first round of the NCAA Men's Golf West Regional held in Bremerton, Wash., at the Gold Mountain Golf Course. Four Pac-10 teams lead the way, as Oregon is at 1-over 289 and host Washington, USC and UCLA are at 3-over 291.

The top 10 teams advance to the NCAA Championships held in West Lafayette May 28-21, and ASU with two rounds to go is five shots out of tenth and is tied for 17th with four teams.

ASU was led by freshman James Byrne, who is tied for 19th at 1-over 73. All-Pac-10 first-team selection and classmate Jesper Kennegard shot a 4-over 76 (tied for 64th).

Sophomore Braxton Marquez shot a 5-over 77 and is tied for 82nd. Sophomore Knut Borsheim is tied for 99th at 6-over 78 and freshman Stephan Gross is tied for 132nd at 10-over 182.

ASU has won or tied for the West Regional title five times (three of the past 10 seasons) and has tied for third the past two seasons.

NOTING THE TEAMS: The 2008 NCAA West Regional features 15 teams ranked in the Top-50 of the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. That list includes third-ranked USC, No. 4 UCLA, No. 7 Stanford, No. 10 Florida State, No. 15 UNLV, No. 18 Clemson, No. 19 Arizona State, No. 24 Texas Tech, No. 30 North Carolina, No. 33 Texas, No. 35 Pepperdine, No. 37 San Diego State, No. 41 LSU, No. 42 California, and No. 44 Oregon State...the regional field includes six conference champions in Florida State (ACC), Arizona State (Pac-10), San Diego (West Coast), Denver (Sun Belt), Navy (Patriot League) and Columbia (Ivy League)...Stanford is the defending NCAA team champion, winning the 2007 team title by 12 strokes over Georgia...the regional field also includes eight Pac-10 teams.

ASU IN THE WEST REGIONALS: ASU has won or tied for the title in the NCAA West Regional five times.

NCAA West Regional ChampionsYear	Champ	ASU	Individual Champion1989	Arizona	2nd	Robert Gamez (Arizona)1990	UNLV	3rd*	Hub Goyen (UNLV)1991	ASU/UA	T1st	*Warren Schutte (UNLV)1992	Arizona*	2nd	Harry Rudolph (Arizona)1993	Arizona	2nd	Manny Zerman (Arizona)1994	UNLV	2nd	Edward Fryatt (UNLV)1995	ASU	1st	Mike Sauer (New Mexico)1996	Stanford	2nd*	*Tiger Woods (Stanford)1997	UNLV	2nd	Aaron Oberholser (SJ St.)1998	ASU/UNM	T1st	Paul Casey (ASU)1999	ASU	1st	Jeff Quinney (ASU)2000	Arizona	T6th	Michael Beard (Pepperdine)2001	ASU	1st	Matt Jones (ASU), Kyle Thompson (South Carolina)2002	UNM/UW	20th	Ricky Barnes (UA), Justin Smith (Minnesota)	2003	UCLA	5th	Michael Letzig (UNM)2004	UCLA	4th	Travis Johnson (UCLA)2005	UNLV	T4th	Rob Grube (Stanford)2006	Florida/UA	T3rd	Billy Horschel (Florida), Casey Watabu (Nevada)2007	South Carolina	T3rd	Benjamin Alvarado Holley (ASU)*Eventual NCAA Champion

START IT OVER: Back in 2002, ASU head coach Randy Lein saw ASU's 18-year NCAA championship consecutive streak snapped in a season that had injuries and some bad luck. ASU is back in the saddle with five straight appearances, and to show you how competitive the NCAA men's golf champioships is, that five-year streak already was tied for the sixth-best active streak entering this season. Arizona had a 21-year streak snapped this year as it did not make NCAA Regional play after finishing under .500.

Rk., School, Years, Current Streak
1. Oklahoma State, 1947-2007, 61
2. Arizona, 1987-2007, 21 (ended in 2008)
T3. Georgia Tech, 1998-2007, 10
T3. Georgia, 1998-2007, 10
5. Florida, 2001-2007, 7
T6. Arizona State, 2003-2007, 5
T6. UCLA, 2003-2007, 5

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP APPEARANCES: ASU has made 14 NCAA Championship appearances in Randy Lein's 15 years (1993-2007), tied for the third-best mark in the nation.

Oklahoma State, Arizona-15
Arizona State, Florida-14
Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Clemson-13
Wake Forest, New Mexico, UNLV-12
Auburn, Texas-11
UCLA, Minnesota-9