UCLA Adds University of Houston To Future Schedules

May 16, 2008

UCLA and the University of Houston have agreed to a three-game football series, beginning in 2010, the UCLA Athletic Department announced today.

UCLA will host the Cougars in the Rose Bowl on Sept. 11, 2010 and Sept. 15, 2012. The Bruins will open the 2011 season on Sept. 3 at Houston's Robertson Stadium.

'Houston is one of the top programs in Conference USA. In addition, the state of Texas and the Houston area are important recruiting targets for us,' said head coach Rick Neuheisel. 'This series will enable us maintain a presence in the area and guarantees us at least one game in Texas in each of those years.'

The two schools have met on four previous occasions with Houston winning the first two (1977 at the Astrodome and 1979 at the Coliseum) and UCLA winning the last two (1997 at the Rose Bowl and 1998 at Robertson Stadium).

UCLA's future non-conference schedules include San Diego State (Sept. 5 at home), Tennessee (Sept. 12) and Kansas State (Sept. 19 at home) in 2009; Kansas State (Sept. 4), Houston (Sept. 11 at home) and Texas (Sept. 18) in 2010; Houston (Sept. 3), San Jose State (Sept. 10 at home) and Texas (Sept. 17 at home) in 2011; Rice (Sept. 1), Nebraska (Sept. 8 at home) and Houston (Sept. 15 at home) in 2012; and Nebraska (Sept. 14) in 2013.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network