Men's Golf Closing In On Sixth Straight NCAA Appearance, Tied For Fourth-Best In Nation

May 17, 2008

Click here for a Golfstat's live scoring pages and full results

Pac-10 Champion Arizona State appears to have secured its sixth straight NCAA Championship appearance at the NCAA Men's Golf West Regional held in Bremerton, Wash., at the Gold Mountain Golf Course. ASU finished at 21-over 885 (304-285-296), which has it at eighth place after the morning round of competition. Final results can be found at the link above. ASU was the only team in the top eight that did not have a top-10 finisher for the tournament.

The top 10 teams advance to the NCAA Championships held in West Lafayette May 28-21.

ASU was led by freshman James Byrne, who finished at 3-over 219 (71-73-76).

All-Pac-10 first-team selection and freshman Jesper Kennegard finished at 6-over 222 (76-77-69) with his 3-under 69 carrying ASU in the final round, as he was six shots better than any of his teammates after having his 77 tossed out in team scoring on Friday.

Sophomore Braxton Marquez shot a 7-over 223 (77-70-76).

Sophomore Knut Borsheim finished at 13-over 229 (78-72-79).

Freshman Stephan Gross finished at 14-over 230 (82-73-75).

ASU has won or tied for the West Regional title five times and had tied for third the past two seasons.

The 2008 NCAA West Regional featureed 15 teams ranked in the Top-50 of the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index. That list includes third-ranked USC, No. 4 UCLA, No. 7 Stanford, No. 10 Florida State, No. 15 UNLV, No. 18 Clemson, No. 19 Arizona State, No. 24 Texas Tech, No. 30 North Carolina, No. 33 Texas, No. 35 Pepperdine, No. 37 San Diego State, No. 41 LSU, No. 42 California, and No. 44 Oregon State. Florida State (ACC Champion), UNLV, Texas Tech, North Carolina, LSU, Cal and Oregon State all will probably not advance.

ASU IN THE WEST REGIONALS: ASU has won or tied for the title in the NCAA West Regional five times.

NCAA West Regional ChampionsYear	Champ	ASU	Individual Champion1989	Arizona	2nd	Robert Gamez (Arizona)1990	UNLV	3rd*	Hub Goyen (UNLV)1991	ASU/UA	T1st	*Warren Schutte (UNLV)1992	Arizona*	2nd	Harry Rudolph (Arizona)1993	Arizona	2nd	Manny Zerman (Arizona)1994	UNLV	2nd	Edward Fryatt (UNLV)1995	ASU	1st	Mike Sauer (New Mexico)1996	Stanford	2nd*	*Tiger Woods (Stanford)1997	UNLV	2nd	Aaron Oberholser (SJ St.)1998	ASU/UNM	T1st	Paul Casey (ASU)1999	ASU	1st	Jeff Quinney (ASU)2000	Arizona	T6th	Michael Beard (Pepperdine)2001	ASU	1st	Matt Jones (ASU), Kyle Thompson (South Carolina)2002	UNM/UW	20th	Ricky Barnes (UA), Justin Smith (Minnesota)	2003	UCLA	5th	Michael Letzig (UNM)2004	UCLA	4th	Travis Johnson (UCLA)2005	UNLV	T4th	Rob Grube (Stanford)2006	Florida/UA	T3rd	Billy Horschel (Florida), Casey Watabu (Nevada)2007	South Carolina	T3rd	Benjamin Alvarado Holley (ASU)*Eventual NCAA Champion

START IT OVER: Back in 2002, ASU head coach Randy Lein saw ASU's 18-year NCAA championship consecutive streak snapped in a season that had injuries and some bad luck. With a chance to clinch a sixth straight appearance on Saturday, ASU is back in the saddle with five straight appearances, and to show you how competitive the NCAA men's golf champioships is, that five-year streak already was tied for the sixth-best active streak entering this season. Arizona had a 21-year streak snapped this year as it did not make NCAA Regional play after finishing under .500. Georgia Tech also will not make the field this year.

Rk., School, Years, Current Streak
1. Oklahoma State, 1947-2007, 61
2. Arizona, 1987-2007, 21 (ended in 2008)
T3. Georgia Tech, 1998-2007, 10 (will end in 2008)
T3. Georgia, 1998-2007, 10
5. Florida, 2001-2007, 7
T6. Arizona State, 2003-2007, 5
T6. UCLA, 2003-2007, 5

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP APPEARANCES: Heading into today's final round of the West Regional, ASU had made 14 NCAA Championship appearances in Randy Lein's 15 years (1993-2007), tied for the third-best mark in the nation.

Oklahoma State, Arizona-15
Arizona State, Florida-14
Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Clemson-13
Wake Forest, New Mexico, UNLV-12
Auburn, Texas-11
UCLA, Minnesota-9

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder