No. 8 Cal Unable To Overcome No. 7 UCLA In Championship Final

May 20, 2008

TULSA, Okla. -

No. 8 California vs. No. 7 UCLA Women's Tennis Box Score in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The No. 8 California women's tennis team (21-6, 6-2 Pac-10) could not withstand the firepower of Pac-10 Champion No. 7 UCLA (24-5, 7-1 Pac-10), falling by a 4-0 count in today's 2008 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship final at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla. The Golden Bears advanced further than any squad in school history under the direction of first-year head coach Amanda Augustus and will complete the team dual season with the fewest losses since 2003.

UCLA won its first collegiate women's tennis team championship after losing in the NCAA Championship final five prior times. The two teams had met two other times this season, with the visiting team taking a 4-3 win after losing the doubles point.

This time, the Bruins were able to edge the Bears for the doubles point by getting an 8-6 victory on the third doubles court as No. 26 Alex McGoodwin and Yasmin Schnack took out No. 54 Bojana Bobusic and Cristina Visico. Freshman Marina Cossou and junior Claire Ilcinkas gave the Bears a fighting chance by winning their 26th match together, defeating Elizabeth Lumpkin and Stephanie Wetmore on the second court by an 8-4 score.

Entering singles play with one point in hand, UCLA's McGoodwin put the Bruins ahead by two with her 6-4, 6-1 win on court six over junior No. 92 Bojana Bobusic. One court over, senior Stephanie Kusano lost her first set, 6-2 and found herself down 5-2, to Lumpkin in the second before she reeled off five straight games to win the second 7-5. Kusano's work would be for naught as her match would eventually be suspended. On court three, No. 35 Visico took a 6-4 win in the first but found herself out of it in a 6-1 loss in the second before coming up 3-2 in the third stanza. Her match however would also be suspended.

No. 40 Ilcinkas fought her way to a 5-3 lead in the first set against No. 54 Andrea Remynse only to see ULCA come back to knot things up at 6-6. Falling to a 3-1 deficit early in the tiebreaker, Ilcinkas could only force a 5-5 tie before Remynse claimed the final two points to take the first set. Remynse came out of the break with the same intensity to take the second set by a 6-2 count to give the Bruins a 3-0 lead in the match.

On court two, the No. 4-ranked Cossou held a comfortable 5-4 lead in the second set after taking the 7-6 win against No. 30 Tracy Lin. Cossou was not able to finish however as senior No. 20 Susie Babos fell in a three-setter to No. 8 Riza Zalameda, 3-6, 6-3, 6-2, giving UCLA the fourth and final point of the day.

The Bears will now prepare to compete in the individual singles and doubles championships, also to be held at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center. For complete scores, news and results from the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Tennis Championships, please visit University of Tulsa's NCAA Tennis Tournament Central Page.

No. 7 UCLA 4, No. 8 California 0
May 20, 2008 | Michael D. Case Tennis Center | Tulsa, Okla.
NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championship - Final

1. No. 1 Lin/Zalameda (UCLA) def. No. 12 Babos/Kusano (CAL) 9-7
2. Cossou/Ilcinkas (CAL) def. No. 56 Lumpkin/Wetmore (UCLA) 8-4
3. No. 26 McGoodwin/Schnack (UCLA) def. No. 54 Bobusic/Visico (CAL) 8-6
Order of finish: 2, 1, 3* (UCLA wins doubles point)
1. No. 8 Riza Zalameda (UCLA) def. No. 20 Susie Babos (CAL) 3-6, 6-3, 6-2
2. No. 4 Marina Cossou (CAL) vs. No. 30 Tracy Lin (UCLA) 7-6, 5-4 Cal DNF
3. No. 35 Cristina Visico (CAL) vs. No. 42 Yasmin Schnack (UCLA) 6-4, 1-6, 3-2 Cal DNF
4. No. 54 Andrea Remynse (UCLA) def. No. 40 Claire Ilcinkas (CAL) 7-6(5), 6-2
5. Stephanie Kusano (CAL) vs. Elizabeth Lumpkin (UCLA) 6-2, 5-7, 3-1 UCLA DNF
6. Alex McGoodwin (UCLA) def. No. 92 Bojana Bobusic (CAL) 6-4, 6-1
Order of finish: 6, 4, 1*

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network