USA Baseball Announces the 50 Semifinalists for the 2008 Golden Spike Award

May 21, 2008

(DURHAM, N.C.) - USA Baseball announced the names of the 50semifinalists for the 2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award (GSA). Thisyear will mark the 31st consecutive year that the USA Baseball GoldenSpikes Award has been presented to the nation's premier amateur baseballplayer.

Returning Pac-10 semifinalists from last year include Preston Guilmet (Arizona) and Brett Wallace (Arizona State). This year, Arizona State and California have two semifinialists each. In total, 40 colleges and universities are represented on the 2008 semifinalist list. The Pacific-10 Conference boasts seven players.

2008 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Semifinalists (Pac-10 Players Only):Preston Guilmet, ArizonaIke Davis, Arizona StateBrett Wallace, Arizona StateJosh Satin, CaliforniaDavid Cooper, CaliforniaJason Castro, StanfordAlden Carrithers, UCLA

For the past 30 years, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseballplayer in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the firstever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State in 1978,the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player whoexhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship.

The 2008 GSA will be awarded as part of a production by Major LeagueBaseball and MLBAM that will be streamed live on the Internetexclusively at and . The annual event will be held inNew York City following MLB All-Star Week with a time and location to beannounced in early June.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network