Cardinal Head Back To The NCAA Championships

May 26, 2008

Postseason Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

- The sixth-ranked Stanford men's golf team is gearing up for the 2008 NCAA Men's Golf Championships that will begin Wednesday,May 28 and run though Saturday, May 31 at Purdue University's par-72, 7,431-yard Kampen Course of the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Ind. The Cardinal are the current defending champions and will be looking to bring home their ninth NCAA Championship.

For the team title, five golfers from each team will play each day, with the top-four scores counting toward the team total for the round. A total of four rounds will be played to determine the national champion. All 30 teams will compete in the first three rounds, but only the top 15 teams will play in the fourth and final round. The six individual golfers will play in all four rounds for a chance at the individual title. Practice rounds will be held on May 26 and 27 and the first round of action begins with tee times (determined by seeding) starting at 7 a.m. ET on Wednesday, May 28. Thursday's tee times will also be determined by seeding, while Friday's tee times will be based on the 36-hole score for each team.

Stanford received the No. 10 seed and will call on senior Rob Grube, junior Dodge Kemmer, sophomore Jordan Cox, and freshmen Steve Ziegler and Sihwan Kim to take to the course for the Cardinal. The same crew most recently finished sixth at the NCAA West Regional in Bremerton, Wash. Stanford is one of six Pac-10 teams to qualify for the NCAA Championships.

On Wednesday, Ziegler will hit the first drive for Stanford from the Hole No. 1 tee at 1:17 pm. Following him ten minutes later will be Cox. Kemmer will begin at 1:36 p.m, Grube at 1:46 p.m., and Kim at 1:55 p.m. Thursday's tee-off order will remain the same, but the Cardinal will start from Hole No. 10 at 8:07 a.m.

Stanford has accumulated two top-10 and eight top-five finishes in 11 tournaments this year, winning the UH-Hilo Invitational on February 8. The Cardinal most recently finished sixth at the 2008 NCAA West Regional. The team is averaging 303.1 strokes per round, and has shot a low round of 263 and a tournament-low of 813.

The Kampen Course has hosted the NCAA Women's Golf Championships (2003), the NCAA Men's Golf Central Regional Championships (2004) and the NCAA Women's Central Regional Championships (2001). During the 2004 Central Regional Championships, the Kampen Course played 7,259 yards, almost 200 yards shorter than the length for the 2008 NCAA Championships. For more information on the Kampen Course, please visit

This will be the third time Purdue has hosted a men's golf national championship. The first was the 1952 NCAA Men's Golf Championships which was won by North Texas. In 1961, the Boilermakers hosted, winning their only national championship in men's golf.

Tickets are available in advance by calling the Purdue Athletics Ticket at 800-49-SPORT or by visiting the ticket office in the Intercollegiate Athletics Facility. Tickets will be available during the tournament at the driving range clubhouse in the Tom Spurgeon Training Center. The all-session pass is $50 for adults and $40 students. Tickets for the final round on Saturday is $18 for adults and $15 for students. Tickets for the first three rounds are $15 for adults and $12 for students.

Fans who cannot attend can follow along with live scoring from GolfStat. Also detailed information will be posted on Purdue's Tournament Central Site.

2008 NCAA Championships Field
Seed, Team, (Rank)
No. 1 Southern California (#3)
No. 2 Georgia (#1)
No. 3 Wake Forest (#17)
No. 4 Oklahoma State (#5)
No. 5 Clemson (#14)
No. 6 Florida (#7)
No. 7 UCLA (#4)
No. 8 UAB (#27)
No. 9 Alabama (#2)
No. 10 Stanford (#6)
No. 11 Auburn (#16)
No. 12 Charlotte (#8)
No. 13 Texas A&M (#18)
No. 14 East Tennessee State (#10)
No. 15 Indiana (#24)
No. 16 Oregon (#44)
No. 17 Augusta State (#43)
No. 18 UC Irvine (#42)
No. 19 Illinois (#47)
No. 20 Louisville (#23)
No. 21 Mississippi State (#38)
No. 22 Washington (#57)
No. 23 St. Mary's - Calif. (#50)
No. 24 Arizona State (#19)
No. 25 Kent State (#33)
No. 26 Penn State (#40)
No. 27 San Diego State (#36)
No. 28 Texas (#31)
No. 29 Middle Tennessee State (#49)
No. 30 Virginia (#63)

2008 NCAA West Regional Individual Qualifiers
James Sacheck (TCU)
Eric Shriver (Pepperdine)
Joel Sjoholm (Georgia State)
Derek Tolan (Colorado)
Jurrian Van Der Vaart (Virginia Tech)
Dan Woltman (Wisconsin)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network