CRCA Announces 2008 All-Region Teams, Scholar Athletes

May 27, 2008

The CRCA announced Tuesday its all-region teams for the 2008 season as well as scholar athletes from each division. The All-Region award recognizes outstanding performances from rowers from the five Division I regions. Ninth-ranked Washington State University earned two spots on the All-Region West First Team with senior Karin Brevick and junior Irena Neffeova. Senior Tiana Rodriquez received second team honors.

WSU tied for second most rowers on the first team. Pacific-10 opponent California had four rowers make the team including coxswain Krista Ellis. Stanford also had two rowers on the team. Oregon State, USC, UCLA, Gonzaga, and Washington all had one rower a piece.

Also announced Tuesday were the 2008 scholar athletes from each division. Those named as CRCA National Scholar Athletes must have met all eligibility rules for her institution, be in her second, third or fourth year of eligibility, rowed in a minimum of 75 percent of the spring races, and maintained a cumulative 3.5 GPA or higher throughout her career. Sophomore Corina Chilibeck, sophomore Erika Jorgensen, sophomore Erica Lewis, sophomore Kyann Martin, senior Tiana Rodriquez, and sophomore Hannah Rothstrom are the six Cougars who have met the above mentioned criteria and earned National Scholar Athlete honors.

CRCA All-Region West First and Second Teams

1st Team
Mara Allen, University of California
Taryn O'Connell, University of California
Candice Rediger, University of California
Jessie Reel, Stanford University
Stephanie Morrison, Stanford University
Irena Neffeova, Washington State University
Karin Brevick,Washington State University
Liene Bertasjus, University of Southern California
Ashley Jones, University of Washington
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State University
Vanessa Teff, University of Los Angles
Hannah McLintock, Gonzaga University

Krista Ellis, University of California

2nd Team
Lou Kinder, University of California
Adrienne Frisch, Stanford University
Lauren Hofmayer, Stanford University
Tiana Rodriquez, Washington State University
Diana Ivanova, University of Southern California
Kara Farquharson, University of Washington
Jacquelyn Harris, University of San Diego
Aimee Chenard, Sacramento State University

Jenifer Brown, Stanford University