Six Teams Set to Compete in NCAA Men's Golf Championships

May 27, 2008

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The field is set for the 2008 NCAA Men's Golf Championships to be held May 28 to 31 on the Kampen Course of the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Ind., hosted by Purdue University. It is the 111th annual NCAA Men's Golf Championships.

Thirty teams and six individuals will compete for the NCAA national championship. Southern California, ranked No. 3 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Index has received the top-seed for the tournament.

Other Pac-10 teams also qualifying for the championships (in order by seed) is No. 4 UCLA, No. 6 Stanford, No. 44 Oregon, No. 38t Washington and No. 19 Arizona State.

Pac-10 individuals in the field are UCLA's Kevin Chappell, who is ranked No. 3, defending national champion USC's Jamie Lovemark, who is ranked fifth, and his teammate Rory Hie is ranked No. 6.

For the team title, five golfers from each team will play each day, with the top-four scores counting toward the team total for the round. A total of four rounds will be played to determine the national champion. All 30 teams will compete in the first three rounds, but only the top 15 teams will play in the fourth and final round. The six individual golfers will play in all four rounds for a chance at the individual title. Practice rounds will be held on May 26 and 27 and the first round of action begins with tee times (determined by seeding) starting at 7 a.m. ET on Wednesday, May 28. Thursday's tee times will also be determined by seeding, while Friday's tee times will be based on the 36-hole score for each team.

Last year's NCAA national champion was Stanford, while Lovemark of Southern California won the individual title as a freshman.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network