Pac-10 Announces Spring Scholar-Athletes of the Year, Presented by Toyo Tires

May 28, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- The Pacific-10 Conference has named the spring Scholar-Athletes of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

The Pac-10 Scholar-Athletes for spring, include:

Russell Brown, Stanford - Men's Track and Field, 3.44 - political science
Mathieu Dehaine, UCLA - Men's Tennis, 3.81 - business-economics/math & applied science
Rob Grube, Stanford - Men's Golf, 3.20 - political science and history
April Kubishta, Arizona State - Women's Track and Field, 4.00 - mathematics
Jayson Miller, Washington State - Baseball, 3.69 - accounting
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State - Women's Rowing, 3.75 - science
Jackie Vasquez, Arizona State - Softball, 3.65 - special education
Justin Wagner, Oregon State - Men's Rowing, 3.97 - biology
Alison Walshe, Arizona - Women's Golf, 3.51 - interdisciplinary studies
Riza Zalameda, UCLA - Women's Tennis, 3.40 - anthropology

'Toyo is proud to support the Pac-10 and to acknowledge outstanding student-athletes for their efforts,' said Steve Hutchinson, senior director of marketing, Toyo Tire (U.S.A.) Corporation. 'By supporting today's achievers, we feel we are helping to grow tomorrow's leaders.'

In order to be eligible for the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

'The Pac-10 joins Toyo in recognizing these student-athletes during the 2007-08 academic year,' said Tom Hansen, Commissioner of the Pac-10. 'To be selected as the best student-athlete in any sport in the Pac-10 is a very special honor, and these are special young people, in academics as well as athletics. We are very appreciative that Toyo is helping them gain the recognition they deserve for their unique achievements.'

Other nominees included:

Baseball: Elliott Cribby, WASH; Drew George, OSU; Alex Rollin, CAL; Ryan Sontag, ASU; David Stringer, STAN.
Men's Golf: Trey Denton, ARIZ; Vincent Johnson, OSU.
Women's Golf: Tracy Broders, WSU; Jessi Gebhardt, OSU; Saana Rapakko, STAN.
Men's Rowing: Heath Allen, WASH; Marko Marjanovic, CAL; Silas Stafford, STAN.
Women's Rowing: Mara Allen, CAL; Nichole Fischbach, USC; Erin Haggerty, UCLA; Ashley Jones, WASH; Jessi Reel, STAN; Tiana Rodriguez, WSU.
Softball: Krista Colburn, UCLA; Cambria Miranda, OSU; Amie Morris, ORE; Caitlin Noble, WASH; Michelle Smith, STAN.
Men's Tennis: Phil Kao, STAN; Andy Kuharszky, WASH; Kaes Van't Hof, USC.
Women's Tennis: Susie Babos, CAL; Ekaterina Burduli, WSU; Celia Durkin, STAN; Lindsey Nelson, USC; Tara Simpson, WASH.
Men's Track and Field: Donny Appanaitis, CAL; Henry Hagenbuch, UCLA; Jon Jeffreys, WSU; Mike McGrath, ORE.
Women's Track and Field: Lauren Denfeld, OSU; Kate Hutchinson, USC; Ingrid Kantola, UCLA; Meghan Leonard, WSU; Erica McClain, STAN; Sarah Pearson, ORE; Trisha Rasmussen, WASH.

To learn more about Toyo and its broad line of tires, log on to