Roth, Lastrapes Named All-America

May 28, 2008

OKLAHOMA CITY - Arizona junior first baseman Laine Roth and freshman outfielder Brittany Lastrapes were named to the Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-America team today, giving Arizona an All-American player every year since 1990 and 81 overall citations since the National Fastpitch Coaches Association began picking the squads.

Roth and Lastrapes earned third-team honors. The last time a Wildcat didn't get first-team honors came in 1999 when Lauren Bauer, Nicole Giordano and Becky Lemke all made third team. It was the first All-America honor for both. Lastrapes is UA's first freshman named since Caitlin Lowe in 2004.

For the first year since 1991, no Arizona pitcher - in this case Taryne Mowatt, a second-team selection a year ago -- was not named to the All-America squad.

Roth and Lastrapes have traded leads for the team-high in batting average this year, with Lastrapes entering Women's College World Series play on top with a .378 mark, a team-best 52 runs and 40 RBI. Roth is tied for second on the club with 15 home runs, is hitting .344 and has driven in 42 runs.

They were among 13 players from Pac-10 teams -- three of which will open WCWS play here tomorrow (Arizona, ASU and UCLA). Pac-10 champion ASU placed two players on the first team and a total of five to lead Pac-10 squads. UCLA had four All-Americans.

Louisville Slugger/NFCA NCAA Division I All-America Teams
First Team

Pos. Name SchoolP Stacey Nelson  - University of FloridaP Anjelica Selden  - UCLAP Angela Tincher  - Virginia TechC Chelsea Bramlett  - Mississippi State University1B Alexandra Gardiner  - University of Florida2B Samantha Findlay  - University of Michigan3B Tonya Callahan  - University of TennesseeSS Tammy Williams  - Northwestern UniversityOF Kaitlin Cochran  - Arizona State UniversityOF Brittany Rogers  - University of AlabamaOF Holly Tankersley  - University of Louisiana at LafayetteUT/P Megan Gibson  - Texas A&M UniversityUT/Non-P Lauren Grill  - University of MississippiAt-Large/P Katie Burkhart  - Arizona State UniversityAt-Large/SS Courtney Bures  - Mississippi State UniversityAt-Large/1B GiOnna DiSalvatore  - UCLAAt-Large/3B Kelley Montalvo  - University of AlabamaAt-Large/UT-P Charlotte Morgan  - University of Alabama

Second TeamP Angel Shamblin - University of HoustonP Jordan Taylor - University of MichiganP Brooke Turner - Long Beach State UniversityC Noelle Micka University of Nevada1B Stephanie Fischer - Tennessee Tech University2B Aja Paculba - University of Florida3B Amber Patton - DePaul UniversitySS Savannah Long - University of OklahomaOF Alessandra Giampaolo - University of MichiganOF Lisa Kingsmore - Winthrop UniversityOF Rhea Taylor - University of MissouriUT/P Danielle Spaulding - University of North CarolinaUT/Non-P Kiki Munoz - California State University, FullertonAt-Large/2B Mindy Cowles - Arizona State UniversityAt-Large/OF Francesca Enea - University of FloridaAt-Large/OF Amber Flores - University of OklahomaAt-Large/P D.J. Mathis - University of OklahomaAt-Large/P Morgan Melloh - Fresno State University

Third TeamP Kelsi Dunne - University of AlabamaP Nikki Nemitz - University of MichiganP Missy Penna - Stanford UniversityC Rachel Folden - Marshall University1B Laine Roth - University of Arizona2B Amanda Kamekona - UCLA3B Brette Reagan - Baylor UniversitySS Jessica Valis - University of HoustonOF Alissa Haber - Stanford UniversityOF Jackie Vasquez -Arizona State UniversityOF Laurie Wagner - University of HoustonUT/P Megan Langenfeld - UCLAUT/Non-P Brittany Vanderink - Ohio State UniversityAt-Large/3B Krista Donnenwirth - Arizona State UniversityAt-Large/3B Jamie Hinshaw - Texas A&M UniversityAt-Large/OF Brittany Lastrapes - University of ArizonaAt-Large/1B Jamie Lettire - Princeton UniversityAt-Large/C Samantha Marder - Ohio State UniversityAt-Large/OF Kim Waleszonia - University of Florida

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network