Pat Murphy Named Pac-10 Coach of the Year For Second Straight Year

May 29, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State head coach Pat Murphy has been named the Pac-10 Conference Coach of the Year, the second straight season he has won the award. The Coach of the Year is selected by a vote of all the conference head baseball coaches. This is the third time in Murphy's career he has won the award. He also won the award in 2000 and last season. It is the eighth Pac-10 Coach of the Year award in ASU history and the second time a coach has won back-to-back awards. Jim Brock won the award in both 1981 and 1982.

Murphy, now in his 14th year at Arizona State, skippered the Sun Devils to their second straight Pac-10 title and the #3 national seed in the NCAA Tournament. He collected his 200th Pac-10 victory earlier this year and has won 547 games at Arizona State.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network