Two Trojans Named to 2008 CRCA All-West Region Rowing Team

May 29, 2008

The Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association named their 2008 All Region Rowing teams. The awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers from each of the five Division I regions, organized into first and second-team selections.

Two Women of Troy athletes were bestowed with the honor.

Sophomore Liene Bertasjus was a First Team All-West rowing selection. Bertasjus hails from Jurmala, Latvia and is a member of the Latvian National Team. As a freshman in 2007 she rowed from the No. 3 seat in the varsity eight boat, which had an incredibly successful season, winning the Pac-10 championships and Jessup-Whittier Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic. As a sophomore in 2008, Bertasjus recovered from having her appendix removed to become an integral part of the varsity eight squad. At this weekend's NCAA Championships, she will be rowing from the No. 5 seat.

Senior Diana Ivanova was a Second Team All-West selection. Ivanova has been a member of the varsity eight crew all four years. As a freshman in 2005, Ivanova was a member of the first USC squad to get a team bid to the NCAA Championships. The team finished eleventh overall that year. In 2006 she rowed from the No. 3 seat on a varsity eight crew which finished second at the San Diego Crew Classic and placed third at the Pac-10 Championships. As a junior in 2007 she was a member of the USC team which had its best year in school history. The crew won the Whittier-Jessup Cup at the San Diego Crew Classic, won the Pac-10 Championship and finished fifth overall at the NCAA Championships. In 2008 as a senior Ivanova's experience has been invaluable to a squad which has been plagued by injuries. She helped the crew finish second at the San Diego Crew Classic and she will be rowing from the stroke position at this weekend's NCAA Championships.

All-West Selections

First TeamMara Allen: University of California,Taryn O'Connell: University of California,Candice Rediger: University of California,Jessie Reel: Stanford University,Stephanie Morrison: Stanford University,Irena Neffeova: Washington State University,Krista Ellis: University of California,Liene Bertasjus: University of Southern California,Ashley Jones: University of Washington,Kaylie Towne: Oregon State University,Hannah McLintock: Gonzaga University,Vanessa Teff: University of California Los Angeles,Coxswain, Karin Brevick: Washington State University

Second TeamLou Kinder: University of California,Adrienne Frisch: Stanford University,Lauren Hofmayer: Stanford University,Tiana Rodriquez: Washington State University,Diana Ivanova: University of Southern California,Jenifer Brown: Stanford University,Jacquelyn Harris: University of San Diego,Aimee Chenard: Sacramento State University,Coxswain, Kara Farquharson: University of Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network