USC Track And Field Lands 26 Student-Athletes On Pac-10 All-Academic Team

June 2, 2008

The USC track and field team had 26 student-athletes selected to the Pac-10 Conference Men's and Women's Track and Field All-Academic Team it was announced today (June 2) by Commissioner Tom Hansen. Highlighting the Trojans' selections were Sheldon Evans, Irek Sekretarski, Katherine Ellis, Kate Hutchinson and Lindsay Oman who were all named first-team. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Evans (3.54 in Social Sciences and History) and Sekretarski (3.70 in History) are both seniors. Evans finished eighth in the 400m IH at the 2008 Pac-10 Championships and qualified in the event at the NCAA West Regional. Sekretarski placed ninth in the 1500m race at the 2008 Pac-10 Championships and set the school record in the mile during the 2007 season.

Ellis (3.87 in Engineering) is a sophomore, Hutchinson (3.80 in Social Sciences and History) a redshirt senior and Oman (3.81 in Occupational Therapy) is in her first year of graduate studies. Ellis placed second in the 3000m steeplechase at the USC-UCLA Dual Meet this year, while Hutchinson placed sixth in the discus at the 2008 NCAA West Regional and is the USC record-holder in the event with a mark of 189-5 set in 2006. Oman, who was also a first-team selection in 2007, bettered her eighth-place standing on USC's all-time heptathlon list with a point total of 5,025 at the Texas Relays in April.

Being selected to the Men's Pac-10 All-Academic second team were senior Philip Allen (3.58 in Visual and Performing Arts), sophomore Benjamin Brown (3.62 in Communications), junior Kevin Deiter (3.60 in Business Management), junior Andrew Gausepohl (3.52 in Biological Sciences/Life Sciences) and senior Charles Heffern (3.46 in Biological Sciences/Life Sciences).

The only USC women's Pac-10 All-Academic second team selection was sophomore Chanel Fischetti (3.80 in Social Sciences and History).

Trojan men receiving academic honorable mention were redshirt sophomore Colin Campbell, senior Daniel Corrigan, redshirt sophomore Derek Scott, redshirt junior Jekabs Sliede, and redshirt sophomore Manjula Wijesekara.

Troy's women being named academic honorable mention were sophomore Ekene Anene, junior Taylor Carroll, junior Christine Greer, sophomore Bridget Helgerson, junior Melissa Margulies, senior Mei Nickles, redshirt senior Michelle Sanford, redshirt junior Arielle Sepulveda, junior Kenisha Strong and sophomore Jennifer Wells.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network