Lin/Zalameda Named ITA Doubles Team of the Year

June 6, 2008

LOS ANGELES - UCLA women's tennis players Tracy Lin and Riza Zalameda were named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's (ITA) Doubles Team of the Year on Friday, becoming the first Bruin tandem to win the award since its inception in 2000.

Lin and Zalameda enjoyed a dream season in 2008, capturing the NCAA Doubles title with a 6-2, 4-6, 6-3 victory over Fresno State's second-seeded Melanie Gloria/Tinesta Rowe. The Bruin duo ended the season with an eight-match winning streak, posting wins in 12 of their final 13 matches. They were also instrumental in helping UCLA wins its first-ever NCAA Championship this season, posting a 15-2 record at the No. 1 doubles position. Lin and Zalameda finished as the No. 1-ranked team in the Final ITA Rankings.

ITA Doubles Teams of the Year
2000 - Claire Curran and Amy Jensen, California
2001 - Whitney Laiho and Jessica Lehnhoff, Florida
2002 - Lauren Kalvaria and Gabriela Lastra, Stanford
2003 - Christina Fusano and Raquel Kops-Jones, California
2004 - Lauren Barnikow and Erin Burdette, Stanford
2005 - Alice Barnes and Erin Burdette, Stanford
2006 - Alice Barnes and Anne Yelsey, Stanford
2007 - Sara Anundsen and Jenna Long, North Carolina
2008 - Riza Zalameda and Tracy Lin, UCLA

In other tennis news, the USTA recently announced that Zalameda is one of six players selected to the 2008 USTA Summer Collegiate Team, a joint effort by the USTA and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

Joining Zalameda on the team will be: Hilary Barte (Stanford), Amanda Fink (USC), Sanaz Marand (North Carolina), Amanda McDowell (Georgia Tech) and Kristi Miller (Georgia Tech).

The USTA Summer Collegiate Team is an elite training program for the top American collegiate tennis players that began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA. It is designed to provide college players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the summer months.

UCLA assistant head coach Rance Brown will be the coach of the women's summer team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder