Four Bears Named All-American, Nevin Earns Coaching Honors

June 9, 2008

BERKELEY - California placed four members of the Golden Bears' varsity eight on the 2008 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) Women's Division I All-America teams and Cal assistant coach Sara Nevin was named the 2008 CRCA Assistant Coach of the Year, the rowing organization announced. Bears senior co-captain Mara Allen, who earned her second straight All-America selection, and sophomore Taryn O'Connell claimed spots on the All-America first team, while Cal senior rower Candice Rediger and junior coxswain Krista Ellis earned second-team honors.

This is Nevin's second coaching award of the season; the CRCA named her its West Region Assistant Coach of the Year in May. Nevin was a key member of Cal's third-place finish at the recent NCAA Women's Rowing Championships. During the regular season, she coached the Cal freshman eight to an undefeated season that culminated in a Pac-10 championship.

Allen, who was a second-team All-American as a junior, O'Connell and Rediger also earned spots on the 2008 All-Pac-10 team, as announced on Monday by the conference office.

2008 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Women's Division I Rowing Awards

Coach of the Year
John Murphy, Brown

Assistant Coach of the Year
Sara Nevin, California

All-America First Team

Gabriele Albertaviciute, Ohio State
Mara Allen, California
Jennifer Barnes, Minnesota
Liene Bertasjus, Southern California
Kelsie Chaudoin, Virginia
Karen Colwell, Michigan
Anne Cowan, Michigan State
Jennifer Cromwell, Virginia
Tess Gerrand, Yale
Kristin Haraldsdottir, Princeton
Ashley Jones, Washington
Anna Kendrick, Harvard, Radcliffe Crew
Laura Lea Larsen-Strecker, Harvard, Radcliffe Crew
Steph Morrison, Stanford
Irena Neffeova, Washington State
Taryn O'Connell, California
Emma Olson, Brown
Amanda Polk, Notre Dame
Jessi Reel, Stanford
Taylor Ritzel, Yale
Krystina Sarff, Central Florida
Jessica Stage, Brown
Suzanne Van Fleet, Clemson

Sarah Wu, Brown

All-America Second Team

Ellie Benson, Indiana
Karin Brevick, Washington State
Joanna Brown, Michigan State
Laura Cordner, Miami
Ally Doodeman, Syracuse
Kristin Falovo, Louisville
Corey Finnerty-Ludwig, Brown
Lori Gordon, Michigan
Lauren Hutchins, Virginia
Jessica Leidecker, Clemson
Elisabeth McIntee, North Carolina
Hanna McClintock, Gonzaga
Candice Rediger, California
Erin-Monique Shelton, Tennessee
Vanessa Teff, UCLA
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State
Emily Tvetenstrand, Columbia
Lauren Wilkinson, Princeton

Krista Ellis, California