O'Brien and Rodriquez Earn Pacific-10 All-Conference Honors

June 9, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington State University senior rowers Kelly O'Brien and Tiana Rodriquez have been named to the 2008 Pacific-10 Women's Rowing All-Conference Team, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Monday.

O'Brien and Rodriquez, were both members of the varsity eight boat which was ranked as high as third in the nation this season. The Cougars earned their second-highest finish in school history after placing eighth at the 2008 NCAA Championships in Gold River, Calif., May 30-June1. Earlier in May WSU finished third at the Pacific-10 Conference Championships also held at Gold River.

A native of Granite Bay, Calif., O'Brien was a four-year member of the WSU rowing team. As coxswain she also helped guide the varsity eight boat which finished second at the Pac-10 Championships and fourth at the NCAA Championships as a sophomore in 2006. She is a three-time Pac-10 All-Academic honoree, including second team honors in 2008.

Rodriquez, a native of Melbourne, Australia, competed with WSU for three seasons after transferring from Melbourne University. She was also a member of the 2006 Pac-10 runner-up varsity eight boat which placed fourth at the NCAA Championships. This season Rodriguez earned CRCA All-West Region Second Team accolades, as well as her third-straight Pac-10 All-Academic honor, including first team accolades the past two seasons.

The Cougars were one of just three teams to have multiple student-athletes named to the all-conference team. Pac-10 Champion California led the way with four honorees, while Stanford had three rowers named to the team. WSU has had a total of 29 rowers earn All-Pac-10 accolades dating back to 1988, including multiple honorees in four of the last seven seasons. At least one WSU rower has been named to the all-conference team in each of the last 17 seasons.

2008 Women's Pac-10 Rowing Accolades
All-Conference Team

Mara Allen, California
Carin Andersson, USC
Jen Brown, Stanford
Ashley Jones, Washington
Lou Kinder, California
Steph Morrison, Stanford
Kelly O'Brien, Washington State
Taryn O'Connell, California
Candice Rediger, California
Jessi Reel, Stanford
Tiana Rodriquez, Washington State
Vanessa Teff, UCLA
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State

Co-Coaches of the Year
Yasmin Farooq, Stanford
Dave O'Neill, California

Athlete of the Year
Jessi Reel, Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Mary Jeghers, California.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder