O'Neill Named Pac-10 Co-Coach of the Year

June 9, 2008

BERKELEY - California head coach Dave O'Neill, who led the Golden Bears to the Pac-10 championship last month, was named the 2008 Pac-10 Women's Co-Coach of the Year, Cal freshman rower Mary Jeghers earned the Pac-10 Women's Newcomer of the Year award and four Bears claimed spots on the all-conference team, Pac-10 Commissioner Tom Hansen announced on Monday. O'Neill, who shares this year's award with Stanford's Yasmin Farooq, now has four conference coaching awards, including honors in 1999, 2004 and 2005.

Prior to the Golden Bears' third-place finish at the NCAA Women's Rowing Championships on June 1, O'Neill led his team to Pac-10 crowns in the varsity eight, second varsity eight and freshman eight and to the overall championship in the conference regatta on May 18.

This is O'Neill's second coaching honor this season, as he was also named the 2008 Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) West Region Coach of the Year. O'Neill was named the national CRCA Coach of the Year in 1999 and 2005.

Jeghers was one of two underclassmen to row on the Cal varsity eight, which was ranked No. 1 in the USRowing/CRCA poll most of the season, and was part of the Bears' fourth-place finish at the national regatta. The other underclassman - sophomore Taryn O'Connell - joined varsity eight teammates Mara Allen, Candice Rediger and junior Lou Kinder in nabbing conference honors as part of the 2008 All-Pac-10 team. Cal placed the most athletes (4) on the all-conference team.

This is the third-straight All-Pac-10 selection for Allen, who is now a Cal graduate along with Rediger. O'Connell, Kinder and Rediger earned the conference distinction for the first time.

2008 Pac-10 Women's Rowing Awards

Co-Coaches of the Year
Dave O'Neill, Cal
Yasmin Farooq, Stanford

Athlete of the Year
Jessi Reel, Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Mary Jeghers, Cal

All-Conference Team
Mara Allen, Cal
Carin Andersson, USC
Jen Brown, Stanford
Ashley Jones, Washington
Lou Kinder, Cal
Steph Morrison, Stanford
Kelly O'Brien, Washington State
Taryn O'Connell, Cal
Candice Rediger, Cal

Jessi Reel, Stanford
Tiana Rodriquez, Washington State
Vanessa Teff, UCLA
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network