Kim Named To 2008 All-Nicklaus Team

June 10, 2008

Complete Release from the GCAA in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - The accolades for freshman Sihwan Kim just keep on streaming in, as Kim was named today to the Golf Coaches Association of America's (GCAA) 2008 All-Nicklaus Team. In its first year of existence, the All-Nicklaus team recognizes players from Division I, II, III and the NAIA for their outstanding play during the 2007-08 collegiate season.

Kim, the 2008 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and a first-team All-Pac-10 honoree, ended the season as the highest nationally-ranked Cardi¬nal golfer, checking in at seventh. He played in every tournament and held the lowest stroke average on the team (71.6) while amassing two even-par and 17 under-par rounds in 38 outings. He notched the team's best low-round with 63 strokes, and tied for a tournament-low 199. Kim finished in the top-10 seven times and the top-25 four times, and his best finish came at the CordeValle Collegiate in November when he tied for the individual crown. Also, he took fourth individually at the NCAA Championships. Upon the conclusion of the NCAA Championships, Kim was also named a First Team Ping All-American.

Nicklaus, one of history's greatest players and a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf, was a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University and also helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988, for which Kim was a finalist this year.

2008 All-Nicklaus Team
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Bruno Buccolo, Oklahoma Christian
Jorge Campillo, Indiana
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Scott Harris Jr., St. John Fisher
Rory Hie, Southern California
Nathaniel James, Washington & Lee
Sihwan Kim, Stanford
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Troy Merritt, Boise State
Cory Renfrew, British Columbia
Joe Schoolmeesters, Saint John's (Minn.)
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
Brent Witcher, Valdosta State
Chris Wolfe, Armstrong Atlantic State

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network