Neffeova, Brevick Named to CRCA All-America Teams

June 10, 2008

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State University rower Irena Neffeova has been named to the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) 2008 Division I Pocock All-America First Team, and her teammate Karin Brevick earned second team honors, the organization announced recently.

Neffeova and Brevick were both members of the varsity eight boat which was ranked as high as third in the nation this season. The Cougars earned their second-highest finish in school history after placing eighth at the 2008 NCAA Championships in Gold River, Calif., May 30-June 1. Earlier in May WSU finished third at the Pacific-10 Conference Championships also held at Gold River.

Neffeova and Brevick were each named to the CRCA All-West Region First Team in May, making them eligible to receive All-America accolades.

A junior from Prague, Czech Republic, Neffeova becomes just the second Cougar to earn first team All-American accolades, after Sarah Waterfield received the honor in 2006. Neffeova competed at the stroke position in WSU's varsity eight boat this season.

Brevick, at senior from Fall City, Wash., is a four-year member of the WSU rowing team. She becomes the fifth Cougar rower to earn second team All-American honors. A Cougar has been named to the second team each of the last seven seasons, including repeat honorees Corrie McGrath (2002, 03) and Jody Thomas (2005, 06).

Six rowers from Pacific-10 schools were named to the 24-member first team, while five made the 19-person second team.

CRCA 2008 D-I Pocock All-America Awards
All-American First Team

Gabriele Albertaviciute, Ohio State University
Mara Allen, University of California at Berkeley
Jennifer Barnes, University of Minnesota
Liene Bertasjus, University of Southern California
Kelsie Chaudoin, University of Virginia
Karen Colwell, University of Michigan
Anne Cowan, Michigan State University
Jennifer Cromwell, University of Virginia
Tess Gerrand, Yale University
Kristin Haraldsdottir, Princeton University
Ashley Jones, University of Washington
Anna Kendrick, Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Laura Lea Larsen-Strecker, Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Steph Morrison, Stanford University
Irena Neffeova, Washington State University
Taryn O'Connell, University of California at Berkeley
Emma Olson, Brown University
Amanda Polk, University of Notre Dame
Jessi Reel, Stanford University
Taylor Ritzel, Yale University
Krystina Sarff, University of Central Florida
Jessica Stage, Brown University
Suzanne Van Fleet, Clemson University

Sarah Wu, Brown University

All-American Second Team
Ellie Benson, Indiana University
Karin Brevick, Washington State University
Joanna Brown, Michigan State University
Laura Cordner, University of Miami
Ally Doodeman, Syracuse University
Kristin Falovo, University of Louisville
Corey Finnerty-Ludwig, Brown University
Lori Gordon, University of Michigan
Lauren Hutchins, University of Virginia
Jessica Leidecker, Clemson University
Elisabeth McIntee, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Hanna McClintock, Gonzaga University
Candice Rediger, University of California at Berkeley
Erin-Monique Shelton, University of Tennessee
Vanessa Teff, University of California, Los Angeles
Kaylie Towne, Oregon State University
Emily Tvetenstrand, Columbia University
Lauren Wilkinson, Princeton University

Krista Ellis, University of California at Berkeley